Im sorry I have to ask but I need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2007, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

Im not relly shure whats wrong with my computer but everytime I try to play a game or if I run to many programs at the same time my computer automatcly restarst

I think I should install the latest version of Catalyst Display Driver I tried to install 6.11...because I have an old radeon 9250

If any one knows how to fix my problem plese tell me
__________________

mash_real is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 195
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

Have you checked your CPU's temperature?Sometimes it's an overheating problem.
__________________

johnyB_24 is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

you probably just need more RAM (on card or on motherboard)
Those restarts are from a physical memory dump
what are the amounts&types of RAM on your videocard, and in your DIMMs?
and, is your card PCI or AGP?
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

hit f8 upon boot to get to safe mode. check the disable auto restart upon failure. tell us the error code
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

when I send the error report to microsoft they tell me this

Problem caused by Device Driver

You received this message because a device driver installed on your computer caused the Windows operating system to stop unexpectedly. This type of error is referred to as a "stop error." A stop error requires you to restart your computer


ill try ericb's thing and tel you what happens
the reason for this is I dont know how to check the temperature but I dont think its a overheating problem
see it restarts after like 10+60 seconds of play
and I hve no clue what fixalot is talking about...sorry man
mash_real is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ben_ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 350
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

its your video card i think
to old its dieing lol
same things happened to me so i had tog et a new one
no problems since
ben_ben is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

it could be a million reasons. that error code will help us
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

well when I do that f8 thing it brings me to a blue screen and under technical info I get this

*** STOP: 0x0000007e (0x80000004, 0xf86A79E5, 0XF8AF315C, 0XF8AF2E58

***ACPI.sys -Adress F86A79E58 atF868D000, DateStamp 41107d27

I hope this is what you were asking for
mash_real is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by mash_real View Post
well when I do that f8 thing it brings me to a blue screen and under technical info I get this

*** STOP: 0x0000007e (0x80000004, 0xf86A79E5, 0XF8AF315C, 0XF8AF2E58

***ACPI.sys -Adress F86A79E58 atF868D000, DateStamp 41107d27

I hope this is what you were asking for
I've never seen this error. I thought that I've seen them all. the first line look like a ram address be it video or regular.

ACPI.sys through google did point to a heating problem. what's your fan situation?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 12:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Im sorry I have to ask but I need help

its seems to be runnig well
theres no fan problem
__________________

mash_real is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.