IIS Trouble! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default IIS Trouble!

Hey everyone. I have a server I installed xp on. All I want to do is make a simple web site that people can view from outside my network. So I put in my xp cd and installed iis 5.1 on it. I have done all I can to try to make it so people outside the network can access it, but I just can't. So I searched on google and a lot of sites said to right click on default web site and go to New-web site and configure it from there, but the only option that I can get is New-Virtual directory!!!!!


So I searched on google to try to find out why I can't do it and I came across a page that talked about iis versions and how iis 5.1 stunk and how the iis that came with 2000(5.0) and 2k3(either 6.0 or 7.0) were so much better. So I serched google yet AGAIN to find a download site for iis 5.0 could someone please help me!!!
__________________

kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 03:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Re: IIS Trouble!

Quote:
Originally posted by kpmwrestler
Hey everyone. I have a server I installed xp on. All I want to do is make a simple web site that people can view from outside my network. So I put in my xp cd and installed iis 5.1 on it. I have done all I can to try to make it so people outside the network can access it, but I just can't. So I searched on google and a lot of sites said to right click on default web site and go to New-web site and configure it from there, but the only option that I can get is New-Virtual directory!!!!!


So I searched on google to try to find out why I can't do it and I came across a page that talked about iis versions and how iis 5.1 stunk and how the iis that came with 2000(5.0) and 2k3(either 6.0 or 7.0) were so much better. So I serched google yet AGAIN to find a download site for iis 5.0 could someone please help me!!!
Once you have installed IIS, your users should be able to visit your Web site.

sample URL may like this: http://your IP address

If your users can't access, it is possible that your port 80, or 8080 was blocked.

Make sure whcih port you are using: 80, or 8080 !
__________________

__________________
It was Sailor Moon who said, \"you are not alone\".
kwokwai is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default

I know how to do that, but I want people outside the network to view it. if they type in http://ip address, they won't get the page.
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kpmwrestler
I know how to do that, but I want people outside the network to view it. if they type in http://ip address, they won't get the page.
Its weird!

I had done this successfully in my school Lab, and once IIS was set up.
My classmates were immediately able to get in my system.
But this happened three years ago!

I guess you should have forgotten to do some settings in Admin Tool.

I am sorry that I couldn't help you in deep.
I have forgotten those steps.

Hope someone else here can give you a hand!

But anyway, never feel frustrated, kpmwrestler!
__________________
It was Sailor Moon who said, \"you are not alone\".
kwokwai is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kpmwrestler
I know how to do that, but I want people outside the network to view it. if they type in http://ip address, they won't get the page.
So people inside your network can access your IIS server? Are you behind a router or firewall? Any software firewall installed? Could you explain and perhaps give us a visual of your network topology or go into more detail about your network please?
Law is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 07:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
[BCould you explain and perhaps give us a visual of your network topology or go into more detail about your network please? [/B]

no problem. I have a netgear wgr614 v4, it has a firewall, but my server computer doesn't have any firewall other than the windows firewall. I have two other computers that regularily connect to the network and one old thinkpad that runs nt and connects to the router once in a while. I have forwarded the port 80 in the router configuration to the server's ip address.
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

If this is the port the IIS server is using as default, let the outside user connect to your web server by typing in just the IP address into the browser. The IP address they need to use to the one given to by your ISP, which can be found here http://www.whatismyip.org/

Just make sure you turn of the Windows Firewall or configured it to allow HTTP. The setting should be in Control Panel>Windows Firewall>Advanced Tab, highlight your Interface, select setting. It’s right there on the services tab.

You want to also register with a dynamic DNS service if your ISP has given you a dynamic IP address that changes all the time. This way, users can just remember the FQDN instead of typing in the IP address everytime it changes.

http://www.dyndns.com/

Free
http://www.dyndns.com/services/dns/dyndns/
Law is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 03:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default

well, I had someone try typing in my WAN address from their computer and they couldn't view my page. I already have port 80 forwarded to the ip address of my server. I know it is the correct wan address because it will work if I type it in inside my network. Any other suggestions?


Also, I found a trojan on my server. It is a popup that uses the windows messenger service. It says something like:


"Message from: SECURITY_HOST to: SYSTEM_USER

Your computer's registry has 49 errors! Go to: http://regfixer.com" (or some website like that)"to fix this problem!"




The problem is that I have tried three different anti-spyware/malware/trojan software:

ad-aware se
spybot s&d
spyware doctor

and none of these three picked up this virus. any ideas? Also, so this doesn't happen any more, could anyone recommend a really really really good firewall (freeware please)?
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 04:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default

oh, great, now I can't even get to the page from another computer! What's happened?
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.