IIS Local Testing Server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2004, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Post IIS Local Testing Server

Not sure if this is the right channel for this, but I'm sure it can be changed if not...
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've been trying to setup an IIS local testing server (phantom test server) on my machine for testing ASP scripts, doing database web-work, etc. (FYI, I use Dreamweaver MX, and the databases are small so I use MS-Access, through a ASP-VBScript connection.)

I've never used IIS for doing this, so I haven't a clue on how to go about it and I'm running into problems (specifically 500 errors when i try to view ASP pages). The setup is confusing, and there's a lot of doco but it's just too much for my time. All I want is to be able to setup a local testing website to run ASP scripts to connect to a database and do stuff (passwords, searches, etc) before I publish to my site.

Anyone done this before? I could use a good step-by-step (for XP-Pro).

__________________

ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 07:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

what version of IIS? sounds like a coding issue. make sure you remove the check from "show friendly http error"... or its something like that.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

IIS 5.1

I don't really know how to setup IIS, let alone how to setup a website to run on it. All I know is some random bits I've gotten from Dreamweaver's manuals and the Internet.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, setup IE to NOT show friendly HTTP errors, that way if its in the code written, it will show you were the blow out is.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

I removed the "show friendly HTTP messages" but I still run into this: "Server Application Error"

The event logs for my machine's system throws up the following warnings:

(Fuse is the name of the virtual directory I created.)

Warning:
"The server failed to load application '/LM/W3SVC/1/Root/Fuse'. The error was 'The server process could not be started because the configured identity is incorrect. Check the username and password."

Error:
"DCOM got error "Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer. " and was unable to logon .\IWAM_XXXXXX in order to run the server:"

Okay. Identity problem in DCOM. I've gone to RUN: "inetmgr" to open the IIS manager, navigated to Web Sites->Dafault Web Site->Fuse

Now what?
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 07:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try running synciwam.vbs using wscript and cscript... my thinking is that the IWAM_machine is not associated properly
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Got it!

The problem was I had an error in the ASP script. Since I don't know much ASP myself, I've been using Dreamweaver's ASP modules, and during the testing I accidentally didn't cleanly remove one and some legacy code was hanging out. Once I made up a clean ASP script, it worked like a dream...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
what version of IIS? sounds like a coding issue. make sure you remove the check from "show friendly http error"... or its something like that.
heh, thats what this comment I wrote here was for, coding issue. glad it worked out
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.