iertutil.dlll was not found - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default iertutil.dlll was not found

OK, I need some help.

After some major changes (moved to the latest nVidia drivers, installed IE7) and a crash (BF2 crashed to blue screen), WMP couldn't access the internet. So I used System Restore.

Well, it didn't work. Instead, it hung up during reboot. And, now, When I boot, I get:
"This application has failed to start because iertutil.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."
The application in question is explorer.exe

Anyway, I need to know te best way to go about this, since my comp is basically useless right now (using my wife's/my old computer right now). And formatting IS NOT AN OPTION!!! so save the key strokes.

I was thinking of trying a repair, but I'm not sure that the Windows disk I have is the same as what I'm running (lonmg story, but they are both legit). Also, I do not have my Windows key, and can't get into my computer to get it (right now)... do I need it to do a repair?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yea, try the repair First, I think the worst that could happen if it is not the same windows disk is reregistering.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

lol thanks for using the IE7 beta... please come again.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Well, looks like I'm screwed. I've tried to repair it several times, and it crashes to BSoD. Looks like I'm going to have to reinstall it after all, but not tonight. I'm headed off to work, but I hate leaving my rig in the shape it's in.

The biggest pain will be reinstalling everything else, like games and stuff. Well, the main game is BF2... thankfully all my account info is stored online. But I dread all the downloading... and updating...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

can you get into safe mode? what does the error say
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

last known good configuration?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 01:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Same thing. Can't use System Restore, as I can't get into Windows. Safe Mode, same thing.

Quote:
what does the error say
I'm at work right now, and don't have it with me. I got IRQ_Less_than_or_equal once, and just STOP a few times. i wrote down the error codes, though. Each time I got a generic STOP, the codes were the same.

I thought of something here at work, though. I don't have my Windows key written down (that I can find). I have a copy of Knoppix somewhere... Can I use it (Knoppix) to get my key? If so, where do I need to look?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 01:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

IRQ_Less_than_or_equal is either conflicting programs or bad ram

bart pe has a plugin to find your key. I'll boot from it in the morning and tell you the name of it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 05:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Thanks, Eric.

Unless the RAM went BOOM, it was fine. Has been fine the whole time I've had this computer.

I'm wondering if the initial crash with BF2 was due to new graphics drivers. I had installed them that morning after uninstalling the old ones and cleaning the registry with CCleaner.

Is there a way to repace iertutil.dll outside of Windows?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 08:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

OK, here's the error codes.

For IRQ_Less_then_ or_equal:
0x0000000A (0X0063006D, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0x804F350A)

For STOP:
0x0000007E (0xC0000005, 0x89DBE9D6, 0xBACFBAE8, 0xBACFB7E4)

While trying to do the repair, I get the same IRQ error. It happens right after Windows asks about installing the drivers for Realtek (non-signed... does it whether you answer Yes or No).

Thanks for any and all help, guys. This is like having a family member in the hospital. ::sniff, sniff::
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.