IE7 and VISTA 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2009, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default IE7 and VISTA 64

Anyone had an issue with IE7 locking up on them in VISTA 64?
Its very random and is driving me alittle mad.
I used both IE 7 64 bit and regular IE7 both do it.
there does not seem to be any rhyme nor reason to when it does it.
just says "quit responding" they show no remedy when i click the
"find a solution" thing. just closes.
Everything is updated.
__________________

__________________
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,905
Default Re: IE7 and VISTA 64

Simple solution: use Firefox. Or Opera, Safari, etc.
__________________

__________________
Nothing is more permanent than a temporary fix that works.

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell[/SIZE]
Yami is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 10:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: IE7 and VISTA 64

yes i had that problem a lot with IE7 and server 08 64bit. you can try to re-install IE7 and that may work (for awhile). but it will probably start happening again. i ended up switching to firefox and dont have the problem anymore.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: IE7 and VISTA 64

Well, since IE7 installs flash on it's own you can't really update to the latest flash unless you uninstall IE7 and reinstall, then it should update you to the latest flash player automatically.. tho the 64bit browser will not as Flash does not have a 64 bit installer.
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: IE7 and VISTA 64

Mine started doing that a few months ago. I then installed the ie7pro add on and it mostly stopped however ie7pro has a bad memory leak. I'm just to used to the look of IE to switch to firefox, though I use it sometimes.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: IE7 and VISTA 64

yes it took me a couple weeks to get used to the differences.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: IE7 and VISTA 64

Firefox is one of many applications.. there are countless ones.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista IE7 - Website found, waiting for reply (issue). HJT log jgray152 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 01-30-2009 07:27 AM
Vista machine is SLOW, need help shortstop20 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 09-11-2008 08:06 PM
XP users love Vista forrestcupp Microsoft Windows and Software 38 07-27-2008 03:11 PM
Why Vista is such a failure... backup287 Microsoft Windows and Software 68 01-29-2008 09:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.