IE7 Help Please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2006, 07:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default IE7 Help Please!

Hi guys,

I stupidly downloaded internet explorer seven which I really don't like, and I don't know why I bothered. And I've discovered a particuarly annoying bug. I've put in proxy settings into the settings and now, whenever I get rid of them they come back. They're always there. So now, when I'm away from where I use that proxy programs don't work with the internet, such as Media Player, iTunes, etc etc... it's exceptionally annoying.

So I was wondering, firstly is there any way I can fix this, i.e. an update or something, or is there any way I can downgrade to IE6 as I prefered that?

Thanks a lot in advance for your replies,

Charlie -
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

See if you can remove it under Add/remove programs.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
Default

It should be under add\remove programs. Check the box that says "show windows updates" and it should show up.
lbduballstrs is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

In add/remove programs make sure you have the Show Updates checked. From there scroll down. You should see IE7 listed toward the bottom.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Thanks a lot for your help chaps!

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
jbc
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 225
Default

I have a particularly bad taste in my mouth about Microsoft. I wil ltrust Microsoft only so far as I can throw the Enpire State Building (and I doubt that I could throw that). I would never consider using anything except their OS, and would like to get off that.
jbc is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

Firefox.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Yes, I use firefox, (sig), but the point is, microsoft is so far up its own *** that all programs seem to take orders from IE, so, my programs all use IE proxy settings which I still can't change by the way, even though I've downgraded to IE6, I always use firefox...!
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.