IE6 was unsafe 284 days of 2006 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 03:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Windows all together is unsafe.

At all the retail computer stores, they say that a computer won't work without an antivirus on the internet for more than 10 minutes.

And they recommend antiviruses that you have to pay for, when those ones are crap (except NOD32)
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 03:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Windows all together is unsafe.

At all the retail computer stores, they say that a computer won't work without an antivirus on the internet for more than 10 minutes.

FALSE FALSE FALSE FALSE
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah, maybe Windows 98 will get own3d in 10 minutes without antivirus but not Windows XP...
The General is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 04:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Well, that's what they told me when I was buying that very computer.

Obviously, I knew they were lying, but I told them this computer wasn't gonna be on the internet, otherwise I'd be arguing with a salesman for hours.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 08:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default

Meh, not really bothered...just use another browser.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 04:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default

why don't u all use opera?
mersenne is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 04:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mersenne
why don't u all use opera?
Because Opera sucks
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 05:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
Because Opera sucks
If your going to say something sucks, please use FACTS to prove it.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:12 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jam3s-Zer0
If your going to say something sucks, please use FACTS to prove it.
FF2.0 has built-in inline spell checking.
As far as I know opera doesn't have built-in spell checker. You can download plug-in to add spell checker to Opera. But the spell checker in opera is still not as good as FF. In FF it automatically put a line under incorrect words, but opera you need to highlight the words in order to spell check it.

When you use the find option in FF, you can search for the word that you want letter by letter. I mean when you write the first letter "F" for example, it will highlight for you the word that begins with letter 'F" by red color. In opera you need to write the full word in order to find it.

A lot of websites doesn't support opera, and thats why a lot of websites doesn't render correctly by opera.

Opera default layout/theme sucks

FF is easier to use, and you can customize it the way you want.

In FF you can clear all your private data by just one click with the “Clear Private Data” tool
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:52 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
In FF you can clear all your private data by just one click with the “Clear Private Data” tool
The statement you said was 'Opera sucks'.

How does the statement you made above which I quoted mean Opera sucks? Its just stating what Firefox can do and FYI, Opera can do that too.

I could continue with the rest of your your points too but it would just cause an arguement. If you want to continue discussing this with me, feel free to PM me and keep this thread clean and ontopic, its about IE, not FF or Opera.
__________________

Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.