IE wont load pages, but firefox works??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2005, 11:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Question IE wont load pages, but firefox works???

I hope someone can help me out.

I can't open any sites in IE. However, Firefox just without a hitch. All other programs can access the Internet too. I did the basics like running the network wizard, yada yada yada. Checked the Hosts file, clean. Ran spyware/adware removal apps (found none... since Firefox rocks!). No virus'. Turned off firewall. Am I missing something here perhaps?

Here's what i got:
- Win XP SP2
I think i've got all the updates - but can't check since IE wont open.
- D-Link ethernet card, going through SMC router to Cable Modem.

if there's anything else you need to know, just ask

Any suggestions would really be great!

Thanks

Tom
__________________

htcs is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

go to internet option and set it to automatically configure internet
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ie1.jpg (58.3 KB, 20 views)
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

connections
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ie.jpg (59.1 KB, 20 views)
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If its still not working try to reset all IE settings back to default.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default

Thanks guys... now it seems to be working again.
htcs is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

This can sometimes also be related to spyware. I usually use Hijack this! to delete the entry and it works.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.