IE toast - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 08:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default IE toast

One computer here at work had a booting problem, constant reboots to the safe mode selection screen. No matter what choice you made, it would start to load, then reboot. I went into recovery console and did fixboot. This worked. But now, when you try to get on IE, it opens Windows Movie Maker. I tried going to change what program opens various file types, but IE wasn't listed as a possibility. When I go to the Internet Explorer folder, the .exe isn't there. The only way to get on the internet is to go through control panel, windows updates. I'm going to try going to add/remove windows components and remove/reinstall IE and see if that works. If this is a bad idea, somebody let me know. But for now the computer works fine except IE, so it isn't a critical issue. Well, the users think it is, but I don't.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Default

Click on Start>Run> type IEXPLORE

Does that open it? If so then you could find where iexplore.exe is and link to it.
__________________

__________________
Eagles can soar but weasles don\'t get sucked in to jet engines
RyanS is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

yeah do a search on iexplorer.exe using the search feature or something like google desktop. are you using IE7?
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 08:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

It's IE 6. I haven't had a chance to get back to that machine, but I'll keep you guys posted. Thanks for the suggestions.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.