IE error - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2007, 01:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: IE error

navigate to event viewer by click the start button > right click my computer > left click manage > expand the event viewer > look through the windows application & system logs for any info that would help fix this problem.
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: IE error

Quote:
Originally Posted by theghoul22 View Post
well , i cant get windows cleaner to work correctly ive tried both versions that are out. When i do a test scan it finds like 320 mb of stuff but when i do the actual scan it scans about 1-10 files and stalls. The IE error just popped up to
You may want to try safemode for cleanup....

dont forget to run the registry cleaner from ccleaner

Also, do you have your IPod running? If you do, disable it for the time being.

Post a screenshot of msconfig>startup
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 08:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to theghoul22
Default Re: IE error

heres my event viewer thing for applications:untitled pictures from friends & fun photos on webshots

here is what i think is my msconfig>startup: untitled1 pictures from friends & fun photos on webshots
__________________
--the ghoul
theghoul22 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 10:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IE error

Well it doesnt look like spyware. Nor do i see any signs of adware. Have you tried Malware?

Malicious Software Removal Tool

Run that and see if it doesn anything. Also try some online virus scans and see if they come up with anything.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 01:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to theghoul22
Default Re: IE error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Well it doesnt look like spyware. Nor do i see any signs of adware. Have you tried Malware?

Malicious Software Removal Tool

Run that and see if it doesn anything. Also try some online virus scans and see if they come up with anything.
Nothing came up : /
__________________
--the ghoul
theghoul22 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 02:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: IE error

close IE


download these files and place them as follows: 67.9MB

MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

C:\WINDOWS\ie7

C:\WINDOWS\ie7updates

C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer


Just copy and paste. Not sure if this will work but worth a try....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 05:54 AM   #17 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: IE error

why does everyone hve a thing against IE, I like firefox as you can change the theme but i dont hate IE with a passion like loads of people on here
Nick is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:43 AM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IE error

Have you tried to just install IE6? Are you running the leaked build of SP3?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 04:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to theghoul22
Default Re: IE error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Have you tried to just install IE6? Are you running the leaked build of SP3?
yeah i have no luck , im runnin sp2
__________________
--the ghoul
theghoul22 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 04:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IE error

It jsut seems like a corrupt install somehow. It seems that the adware you got really messed with your regisrty. Have you tried any registry apps like CCleaner or Registry Mechanic or REgistry Repair?

I tihnk i saw RM on your machine. That is goo but CCleaner and REgistery Repair are good as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Online/Offline Status mademokid Programming 1 07-06-2007 09:25 PM
I need some help trose Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-05-2007 11:12 PM
IE error ItHurtz Internet Software and Browsers 4 06-01-2007 05:01 PM
PC Build Error: Floppy disk(s) fail (40) coreysnyder04 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-19-2007 11:17 PM
DRM content, parameter error ohGrFreak Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-27-2007 12:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.