IE error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to theghoul22
Default IE error

hey guys i had a adware a couple months ago and when i finally got it off i was left with a reoccuring internet explorer error. Every hour on the hour , the exact second my computers clock hits a new hour, i get an internet explorer error. I suppose when i deleted the virus some part of internet explorer was changed or taken out. Ive tried unistalling it . Later i upgraded to internet explorer 7 , and tried reinstalling IE 7 again tonight but the problem still remains. Its pretty annoying especially when im playing games because it minimizes them. Anyone have any ideas?

heres a picture of the error untitled pictures from friends & fun photos on webshots
__________________

__________________
--the ghoul
theghoul22 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IE error

Best bet. Google for HiJack This and install it and run it. then post the log. From there we can give you some more info.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to theghoul22
Default Re: IE error

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 12:09:57 AM, on 8/17/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.5730.0011)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\csrss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\svcntaux.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvraidservice.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft IntelliPoint\ipoint.exe
C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\SDTrayApp.exe
C:\program files\steam\steam.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Last.fm\LastFMHelper.exe
C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\swdsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wdfmgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Common\ViewpointService.exe
C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\wmiprvse.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\alg.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\unsecapp.exe
C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Xfire\xfire.exe
C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe
C:\Program Files\Last.fm\LastFM.exe
C:\Program Files\BitLord\BitLord.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\divxsm.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Angelo\Desktop\HiJackThis.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\wmiprvse.exe

R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = MSN.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = Live Search
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = Live Search
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = MSN.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NVRaidService] C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvraidservice.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IntelliPoint] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft IntelliPoint\ipoint.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SDTray] "C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\SDTrayApp.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Steam] "c:\program files\steam\steam.exe" -silent
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Last.fm Helper.lnk = C:\Program Files\Last.fm\LastFMHelper.exe
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{D29D0674-94D0-48D1-880B-A13CE4D33C7F}: NameServer = 68.87.75.194,68.87.64.146
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Spyware Doctor Auxiliary Service (sdAuxService) - PC Tools - C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\svcntaux.exe
O23 - Service: Spyware Doctor Service (sdCoreService) - PC Tools - C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\swdsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Viewpoint Manager Service - Viewpoint Corporation - C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Common\ViewpointService.exe

--
End of file - 4190 bytes
__________________
--the ghoul
theghoul22 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 05:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sodaen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Default Re: IE error

Can I recommend...using Firefox?
Sodaen is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 06:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: IE error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sodaen View Post
Can I recommend...using Firefox?
its not always as simple as that.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 07:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sodaen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Default Re: IE error

But it usually is. Heh.
Sodaen is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: IE error

Close IE

Run ccleaner and cleanup!

CCleaner - Home

www.stevengould.org - Download and Installation

then check msconfig>startup, uncheck everything but your antivirus and then reboot. When you get back to your desktop, run both apps again and then see where that gets you. If it happens again, uninstall IE, run both of those apps, and then reinstall IE7 by downloading it here --> Internet Explorer: Get It Now
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IE error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sodaen View Post
Can I recommend...using Firefox?
Some people dont like Firefox and therefor this isnt a option. Some people actually do prefer IE or a different browser. Such as Avant, Maxathon, Opera or many others. Firefox is not always the first or best choice.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to theghoul22
Default Re: IE error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Some people dont like Firefox and therefor this isnt a option. Some people actually do prefer IE or a different browser. Such as Avant, Maxathon, Opera or many others. Firefox is not always the first or best choice.
i hate IE , i dont even use it . its just that even when the browser isnt open it gives me the error and when i deleted IE from my computer the error still reapeared.


Btw i already ran CCleaner and the error still popped up , im running windows cleanup now so wish me luck!
__________________
--the ghoul
theghoul22 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to theghoul22
Default Re: IE error

well , i cant get windows cleaner to work correctly ive tried both versions that are out. When i do a test scan it finds like 320 mb of stuff but when i do the actual scan it scans about 1-10 files and stalls. The IE error just popped up to
__________________

__________________
--the ghoul
theghoul22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Online/Offline Status mademokid Programming 1 07-06-2007 09:25 PM
I need some help trose Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-05-2007 11:12 PM
IE error ItHurtz Internet Software and Browsers 4 06-01-2007 05:01 PM
PC Build Error: Floppy disk(s) fail (40) coreysnyder04 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-19-2007 11:17 PM
DRM content, parameter error ohGrFreak Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-27-2007 12:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.