IE Crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2003, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default IE Crashing

Ok, folks here the dillema. Currently I'm running Mozilla Firebird, it works fine and all... but to get to Windows Update, I have to use Internet Explorer, to handle the page. However, whenever i open it, it crashes. The only other thing that has changed is the fact that I moved my data from the other partition to the hard drive, removed the page file, and reformatted the drive. The question i have for you is... CAN IT BE FIXED, or am i screwed?
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Yeah, it says a lot of dll's crashed, one maybe dealing with encryption.... but i really am not sure. I think i'm gonna try messing around with the MSN Explorer service, and see if i can patch it.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Talking Fixed it....

Well, those DLLS that i was talking about, apparently if those get corrupt, there's no encryption, and so when you install MSN Explorer, you replace them, encryptions back, and Viola!!! you're cured.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 08-25-2003, 03:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well i would have said try reinstalling IE which shold have the dlls come with it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.