IE 6.0 Requires Administrator Privileges - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2003, 07:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Question IE 6.0 Requires Administrator Privileges

I have IE 6.0 running on an XP Home machine. I have 5 login acounts set up, 2 are administrators and 3 are limited accounts.

Something happened recently and now whenever the limited accounts start IE 6.0, the program crashes with a message such as "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." in a dialog that allows you to send to Microsoft the details.

This started months ago and so it is impossible for me to pinpoint what setting may have been changed in IE.

Does anybody have any clues as to which options in IE would cause a user to require Administrator privileges just to start IE?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks kindly, in advance.

sjpaq is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 39

try creating a new account and see if that works.....

sounds to me like the user profiles have messed up for some reason.

make the new account, and setup with limited permissions.... let me know what happens.....

beefy696969 is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2

I have added a new account and this account also gets the error as a limited account.

When I change the account to an administrator, IE works fine.

When I change the account back to limited, IE chokes when I start it.

Any other suggestions?

sjpaq is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584

Go grab Mozilla. The only site that truly requires IE is, which requires you be an administrator anyway.
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.