IDE to SATA with norton ghost clone-> no boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2004, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default IDE to SATA with norton ghost clone-> no boot

I have an IDE HDD with windowsXP and I recently bought a SATA HDD. I wanted to avoid formating and setting up a fresh OS so I used norton ghost 2004 to clone my IDE drive to my SATA drive.

After that I removed the IDE and tried to boot from SATA. The result is that it begins the boot sequence showing windows xp logo with the moving status bar but after that on the welcome screen it hangs without showing any user account to select and instead of showing the welcome logo it show the windows xp logo.

Can I make it work or I have to create a fresh setup

komitas is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 07:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903


Norton's Ghost only work if you are keeping to the same technology.

It it was IDE to IDE, then I would say it should work.
But considering that it's IDE to SATA, then i seriously dought that it will work as you are changing the technologies around.


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 11:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2

Silesia it worked

Don't ask me how, I can not tell exactly because I do not know how.

The first time I cloned the drive it didn't boot because there was the driver of the sata controller missing. I begun the setup process of XP to create the menu and it f**** up the system. But it passed the bios and went to the booting screen of XP.

Then I made a search in some forums and read about a file of microsoft sysprep.exe which is in the file in the XP cd.
I executed it not knowing what it was. It made one boot then I executed it again as it told. Made a second boot and when it loaded back the OS I saw that the primary drive that was running from was the SATA. (I had cloned my drive again before I executed the file).

What I understood was that this file prepares the OS for something, don't know what, it asked me for the serial the first time I booted after executing

What I know is that I have lost nothing and windows run under C drive which is my SATA.
komitas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.