IBM R31 Laptop Reformat gone bad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2005, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Angry IBM R31 Laptop Reformat gone bad

Ok well its almost about to be the 4th ibm ive seen die this year. Its a IBM R31 Laptop that im trying to fix for a friend. The problem that it had was first of it wasnt windows xp, which is what it was sold with, it had 2000 but the ibm recovery was 98. Anyway it would go to boot and get a blue screen saying something bout checksum. So i took the hd out and stuck it into pc and reformated it. Whats weird is the recovery ibm program was still on and it wouldnt install windows from laptop. Finally i fdisked it and now it doesnt show up and comes up on the laptop as bad nfts or something like that. Any ideas. Im trying to install windows xp.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

bump
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You are sure it is formatted correctly? After you ran an FDISK on the drive what did you format it with NTFS? Can you see this laptop drive on your desktop? If you can see it on your desktop and move files to it etc etc..then we can at least pin point it to being a local problem with the laptop and not so much with the hard drive.

That partition is a utility partition that you were seeing. They usually have some good factory trouble shooting tools.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

how do i boot to dos to go to fdisk
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

heres what im getting out of you. Go to fdisk some how and format ntfs and it should let me install windows? IDK if i know how to get to dos i know how to fix this.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Just format on your machine like you did before. This way it shows up as a drive on your desktop then you can just right clik on it and click FORMAT or if its not showing up under my computer after the FDISK you ran then you may have to initialize the disk via right-clicking on My Computer>Manage>Disk Management.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 01:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

from what i gather u are having problems reformatting the drive, i ran into aproblem where the laptop was running like crap bcoz i change the file format from FAT32 to NTFS. eventually had to change it back wen i figured out that, that may be the problem. wat i suggest is try to format the drive with FAT32 since it seems to be an old laptop, 2000 and 98! so try it an see wat happens
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 9300
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHZ
1GB RAM
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon x300
80GB Hard drive
tariqadkhan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.