I think ive been caught by Microsoft!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2003, 09:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default I think ive been caught by Microsoft!!!

My computer was caught in an unfortunate fire a while back and most of its hardware had to be replaced(you know how these things happen wink wink)

So ive been trying to activate it when i installed it, first i tried the internet but that said the copy had already been activated. So i thought about phoning to activate it and tell them my excuses, but after the automated attempt failed i spoke to a sales person who just asked to repeat the numbers, then she gave me an activation code which worked!!??

Do you think microsoft have delibrately giving me a working code and then are going to catch me with this not so legal copy???

Please help!!!
__________________

andrew03 is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 393
Send a message via Yahoo to ravenmadtaoist
Default

Move????

I honestly can't say what Microsoft's motivation would have been in supplying you with a functional code. If this is causing such worry for you I would suggest not using an illegal copy... Find the cash and go buy it.
__________________

__________________
Life is a terminal sexually transmitted condition. There is no known cure & we are unable to determine how long you will have to live.
LDMS

What am I??? Flypaper for freaks????!!

My mood today is...<a href="http://www.imood.com/users/Ravens_Tears"><img src="http://moods.imood.com/display/uname-Ravens_Tears/fg-330066/trans-1/imood.gif" alt="The current mood of Ravens_Tears at www.imood.com" border="0"></a>

:o 68.63905% - Geek God(dess):o
[The Geek Test]
ravenmadtaoist is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 12:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

It's not actually illegal, its all legit its that i just used it an another pc previously. I was suprised i actually got the activation code, i thought i would have to give my excuse.

Should i be worried about this??
andrew03 is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 12:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 393
Send a message via Yahoo to ravenmadtaoist
Default

Ok, if I am understanding you correctly, you have just installed it to a different computer that you own and you also own the software? If that's the case, you haven't done anything illegal.
__________________
Life is a terminal sexually transmitted condition. There is no known cure & we are unable to determine how long you will have to live.
LDMS

What am I??? Flypaper for freaks????!!

My mood today is...<a href="http://www.imood.com/users/Ravens_Tears"><img src="http://moods.imood.com/display/uname-Ravens_Tears/fg-330066/trans-1/imood.gif" alt="The current mood of Ravens_Tears at www.imood.com" border="0"></a>

:o 68.63905% - Geek God(dess):o
[The Geek Test]
ravenmadtaoist is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to deadtoaster2
Default

you own the software and just got a diffrent access number, perfectly leagal
deadtoaster2 is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 03:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Yea, the copy of windows XP is legit for up to three installations.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 09:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Well i think you lot misunderstood, what i meant was that I have two PCs and im using the same XP on both of them, is this OK? Do u think microsoft have caught me??
andrew03 is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 11:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Did you go online and BUY XP or go to a store and BUY XP? If so, you are fine.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 11:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I bought it online and it was sent to me on a cd. What does this mean??
andrew03 is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

You are fine. A little secret I will pass to you: One of the main reasons our company does the activation the way we do is to prevent piracy and to track how many copies of said O.S. is being used. Sneaky huh? Alot of people whom have more than one computer in their home will often share the operating system. While we would like for you to buy more than one copy, what you have done is perfectly legal.
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.