I think this computer is about to explode!?... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 02:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to mersyone
Default I think this computer is about to explode!?...

kay, so I've come to the conclusion that I DON'T know what the f&@% in doing. I told my friend I would help him restore his old Gateway computer as it was pretty messed up.
It was SO MESSED UP I couldn't even burn a backup of the original system/device drivers, etc. So during my attempt to restore, I did that "WDCLEAR" application from MS-DOS (you know, the one that writes zeros to the HD), rebooted,...BUT,...when I attempted to install Windows XP, I get a bluescreen error and it will not continue.

Oh yeah, btw; the original configuration was WINDOWS 98 and
I am trying to install Windows XP.

It's an old Gateway Select K7-650 w/ AMD Athlon processor...
the *original configuration:
http://support.gateway.com/support/s...?sn=0017944581

I did download some drivers from the Gateway and AMD website but it seems I'm still missing an important element.

The Hard Drive itself is estremely loud; soundz like it'z about to "croak!" I feel like the whole thing is about to blow-up!
I think it's corrupt. I can't find the HD volume anywhere in MS-DOS, It was a 20gb, but now it's saying there is only 8gb (apprx).

Can someone help me out! ANYONE!...
(how am I gonna explain this one to my friend)
__________________

__________________
J. \"MersyOne\" Ortiz {7DWARFS Network}
-----------------------------------------------
PC AMD64 3.0ghz w/ WinXP. 1g ram
MAC G4 dual 1.2ghz w/ osx Tiger. 1g ram
----------------------------------------------------
remixologist * creative intellekt *
mersyone is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try and find a DOS boot disk with FDISK.EXE
and delete the partition on the drive.
then try installing Windows, formatting the drive to NTFS
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 06:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to mersyone
Default

i did, although;...which MS-DOS version should I be using. I formatted one with my winxp laptop, but it didn't have any fdisk options.

I even downloaded FDISK.exe and manually put that on a floppy as well but when I tried to partition it, I didn't have the option to format to NTFS.

QUESTION,...when you run the WDCLEAR through your HD, I know it writes nothing but 0's so does that mean it's pure RAW DATA foramat???
__________________
J. \"MersyOne\" Ortiz {7DWARFS Network}
-----------------------------------------------
PC AMD64 3.0ghz w/ WinXP. 1g ram
MAC G4 dual 1.2ghz w/ osx Tiger. 1g ram
----------------------------------------------------
remixologist * creative intellekt *
mersyone is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 07:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

fdisk will not format to ntfs. download a boot *.iso partition utility like the trial of BootIt NG, boot up into it, delete the partitions and repartition and reformat.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Default

You can buy a quick install cd off of Ebay and make things easier.. will cost you about 9 bucks.. The blue screen from what i was told has to do with faulty memory correct me if im wrong anyone can other things cause the blue screen too..
pandahater is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes other things can cause the blue screen.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use powermax in my signature to wipe it clean
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.