I need an XP Audio Mixer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2004, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Post I need an XP Audio Mixer

I'm working on my parents computer, and I have an interesting question for everyone out there.

Ever since I installed XP, there has been no sound. We upgraded from 2000, and everything else is going fine.

I've heard that ISA isn't compatable with XP, so we had to toss that one. I've obtained 3 different PCI sound cards, and have had no luck with any of them...

Here's what happens with everyone:
I installed all the drivers, and software, and it completley recognizes it under the device manager. I check the audio properties and all the volume controls, record volume ect are greyed out and saying that there is no device installed. Also, when I check the volume control under Acessories --> Entertainment, it gives me this crap: "There are no active mixer devices available. To install mixer devices go to control panel, click printers and other hardware, and then click add hardware."

The supid part is, under the sound properties there is an audio mixer device, and it is apparently running fine.

Is there an XP mixer device that I might be missing, or this old mother board may not be compatable.

Oh ha, by the way, the sound card I'm testing is a MadDog Predator 5.1 DSP. So its not a no name brand.

The requirements also call for a PCI 2.0 slot, does anyone know what that is. How new is it.

They have an intel mobo, with award bios. 320mb sdram 700mhz P3.

Any help with this long post would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4

Try different speakers? Not to sound stupid, but make sure you have the cords attached to the motherboard correctly, it can happen...

Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool

oh, believe me, Ive tried different speakers. Even when I open windows media player, and try to play something, it says there is a problem with your audio device. Thank anyways thou.
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.