I need some Pro Help, someone has been able to take control of my computer! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2006, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default I need some Pro Help, someone has been able to take control of my computer!

Yesterday I was on the web and then my computer screen started to flash for a second. After the flash stopped I was unable to move my mouse but the mouse was moving on its own. I noticed I was getting hacked when the computer started typing on its own on the webbrowser!!! I watched for a little bit as I was amused but in deer struck what was going on.. How is someone able to do this? How can I stop them from doing this? I eventually turned off my computer but not sure if that stopped them or not.. Please help me get rid of this jerkoff who is all up in my ****
__________________

posterak is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

you need to install a firewall. If you have Win xp SP2, you already have one and you just need to install it. Otherwise install one of the firewalls listed here: http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=127213
and go through this guide to get rid of any bad stuff on your comp: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=119852
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Dear kfc469,

Thank You, here is where the problems occur with a firewall. It makes my computer operate real slow. Is there a Firewall software available that will not drain my entire computer power from operating fast?
posterak is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Also, is there a way to find out who done this? I have a good feeling I might know who did it.
posterak is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

well, I have zonealarm and it only uses 1-2% of my cpu at most. Right now its at 0%. Im sure that there is some way to find out who did that to you by tracing their ip address, but I dont know if the computer keeps a log file of ip's that access the computer. If you do manage to find the ip, you can put it in here and see where it was coming from: http://www.geobytes.com/Iplocator.htm?GetLocation It will give you a fairly accurate map and everything.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Ok I will install that.

Thank You
posterak is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 01:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya get that ip and look him up, then take him out of his little hacking hole and curb stomp that sissy bi***. lol

Only time i ever had that happen was at school when one of the teachers did it as a joke.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 01:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I just dont understand how they are able to actually control my computer.
posterak is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 10:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

They can exploit holes in your security. Browser and OS. Read the notes with many of the windows patches. "A security issue has been identified that could allow an attacker to gain control over your computer" If you don't use a firewall you are pretty much wide open. You can get malware unwittingly from downloads or various other ways. Go thru warez' guide and that should clean you up. Then you need to take steps to protect yourself.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Look for X-NetStat Pro, or IP Tools, those are just like the netstat command, but have better interfaces, and details... That will show you all the connections on your computer, and the IP of the person who's takin' control. My brother-in-law did it to me, and he didn't know I got his IP, his computer went bye bye. :P
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.