I need some help after reformating.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default I need some help after reformating..

ok, so i reformated my computer this morning due to a few issues. Anyways after reformating, which went fine, i started to update windows. I got to Service Pack 2 and the download went fine, but When it tries to install itself i keep getting an error message....

Copy error
Setup cannot copy the file apps_sp.chm
Ensure that the location specified below is correct or change it and insert "Windows XP service pack 2 Source file" in the drive you specifiy.

C:\windows\softwaredistribution\download\16b2c96a0 c41f4dfdb4d3cc228a4f819


I do not know what to do, i can hit retry all I want, but if i hit cancel it freezes up the computer and even if i reboot XP will freeze. I've reformated two time now and i've ran into the same problem. Can anyone help? oh and the file is there, i checked
__________________

hdansjr is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try installing it using a seprate exe wrather than automatic update which i think is what you are doing.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/...-SP2-RTM.shtml

let us know if that works
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I didnt' use automatic update, i was using the update feature on IE that took me to the update website. You think i should try the download on your link?
hdansjr is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

Oh and from the way i'm reading the error, which may be totally wrong, is it telling me i cuold rename the folder it's in, or create a new one and add the file there?
hdansjr is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

check out this website good windows updates and u dont hav to be registered
http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Try installing SP2 in the system administrator's account.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

using IE to update is basicly the same thing as automatic updates. download the exe and install it like that and if that doesnt work then try some of these other suggestions.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

this situation sucks. I'm giong to try to download it from the softpedia site and we'll see what happens. Thanks for the help!
hdansjr is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone who gave some input. It finally installed after I downloaded from the site softpedia. thanks again!
hdansjr is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 05:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no problem
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.