i need help formatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default i need help formatting

OK, a friends getting a brand new computer, so they gave me their old, dimension L566cx....it has over 300 mb ram so it can support windows XP along with a 20g Hard drive.

im not on that comp now
It had Windows ME on it, but i managed to install XP over that. however it wouldnt let me create another partion or delete the partion with windows ME on it, so i had to install it in the same partion.

Now though, I REALLY want to format the C: drive, but i cant.

Fdisk in Run doesnt work.

Format C:\ brings up the proper waring, that you will lose all data, but when i say YES it doesnt work because something some process or something is using it, and when i say YES get rid of that problem, the msdos window quits and nothing happens.

BEfore getting rid of win ME i could boot from the Win XP install disc, but now i cant; there is no option at startup.

i can mash f2 while the Dell logo is up but that doesnt give me options; just data i dont need about the computer's hardware.

Im doing all i can to format the hard drive, but i just cant.

so can anyone help me.

also, on another note, origionally the computer had viruses on it, so i tried putting hte install files for avast/avg/anti-adware on a cd-r/w and putting them on the other comp from the good, internet accessable one im on now.

it didnt work; because the comp didnt recognize the disc was in; although a cd r with photos worked well.

well thanks a lot.
__________________

nigy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Your going about it the wrong way

Go to www.bootdisk.com and downlaod windows 98 oem and then put in a formatted floppy and execute the bootdisk
then reboot your pc, make sure its set in the bios to boot from it.

Here is where you fdisk and format.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

wait, do you know that the computer im on now is completely unconnected to the computer im trying to format??

i would need a way to get teh bootdisc file or whatever onto the computer in question, and i dunno how i will od htat.
nigy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

use the one you are one now. download it, install it to the floppy, go to the other pc, turn it on, insert the floppy and it should boot automatically...most system do this
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

oh it fits on a floppy.

if this works...that would be very very great.

thanks a ton
nigy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Go to www.bootdisk.com download a Win98SE boot disk I don't care what computer you use that on

boot with the disc then pop use fdisk


You can't use fdisk on XP because it's not a recongnized command.

A easier way would be to also just pop in your XP cd and choose the format with NTFS option.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Why not boot with the XP CD, and delete the partition from there?

A bootdisk would be the best option since you can delete the partitions manually and do an fdssk/mbr to make sure you really cleared everything...
Snump is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

i cant boot from disc. i just cant, no option at startup, i just cant.
nigy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

how do i make sure it will boot to bios or whatever?
nigy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

reboot and hit F8, this will bring you to the BIOS on most systems or delete. It should be in the advanced section, if not just look around, you will find it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.