I need help-firefox and firewall not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2006, 11:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 210
Default I need help-firefox and firewall not working

I think I got a virus or something. When I try to load FF or my firewall I get a message saying a required file, "IDSTRAFFICPIPE.dll" is missing.

Nothing comes up on my virus/spyware scanners. I tried reloading Windows, but after the first session I get a blank screen and need to restart.

Oddly enough, Internet Explorer works fine.

Jake is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 210

Well I tried downloading IDSTRAFFICPIPE.dll and extracting it to windows/system, and my firewall, FF works intermittently. I find that when I try to run pestpatrol and my windows CD, the entire screen goes black (not blue) and I have to restart. I also get that black screen when running my firewall on startup. Something's outright preventing these programs from running.

What could this be?

Jake is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 210

It's odd that IE works fine, but both FF and Opera give me that frightening black screen. Still no virus scans are giving me anything. Any help would be much appreciated.
Jake is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

Have you tried updating Firefox to Beta 1?

Also, is your computer free of viruses and/or spyware?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 210

Originally posted by talldude123
Have you tried updating Firefox to Beta 1?]


Also, is your computer free of viruses and/or spyware?

Jake is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489

try reinstalling firefox. It will keep all your settings.
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40

do you have the latest anti virus? update to virus defintions?
if you do have a virus whe n scanning follow through warez virus removal guide

if not trying downloading the latest firefox
DOTA2000 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417

I had problems with the lastest beta of FF where it would randomly hang and it was a ctrl alt delete job, it did this everyday until i got fed up with it and went back to and its been faultless for 3 weeks
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 210

Well I did everything I could in Warez's removal guide, I tried the new beta Firefox, and reinstalling the old, as well as reinstalling Windows. The problem hasn't gone away. I thought I'd post my hijackthis log, just in case anyone has any more ideas. Thanks for your suggestions.

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 7:30:22 PM, on 10/09/2006
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 (5.50.4134.0100)

Running processes:

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.ca/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Sympatico Internet Service
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Int ernet Settings,ProxyServer =
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Int ernet Settings,ProxyOverride = local
R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4EFB-9B51-7695ECA05670} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_07\bin\ssv.dll
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - (no file)
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,-1@1033,&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinPatrol] "C:\PROGRA~1\BILLPS~1\WINPAT~1\WinPatrol.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\JAVA\JRE1.5.0_07\BIN\SSV.DLL
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\JAVA\JRE1.5.0_07\BIN\SSV.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
O16 - DPF: {7B297BFD-85E4-4092-B2AF-16A91B2EA103} (WScanCtl Class) - http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/v...fo/webscan.cab
Jake is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 210

btw- I can't run adaware or a-squared, due to the black screen.

Jake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.