I need help... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2005, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default I need help...

Okay...about an hour ago my computer froze I turned the PC off and then back on.. The light on the moniter started blinking and nothings come up its just a black screen...I've had this computer for a month. I dont know if anyone can help, but it would be nice ....Damn Emachines.

~Rachel
__________________

In Need is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Computer specs plz,
If I where you I would take the AC cord out for a good 30 minutes then try it again, sounds like the video card craped out or the PSU died.

Don't open the case It could void the warranty.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Sounds like maybe the video card died. You dont have a spare one you could try out it in it do you? I agree though it is under warranty simply take it to the warranty site and have them repair as needed.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Just moved out of the house, first computer so yer dont have a spare video card. Damn, I dont even know where the video card is...I broke my computer after a month...I feel pretty retarded.
In Need is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

bagh dont be silly..you didnt do it. These things just happen. Do you have a spare anything? Perhaps a spare monitor where you can verify that the monitor didnt crap out? I could be many other things, but those are the two I would start with so long as when you power on your computer you can hear your fans and hard drive kicking.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 01:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I dont have anything... I dont think the keyboards working either... but the PC sounds fine and the disk opener....thing works. So what should I just take the hole computer into the store?
In Need is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 01:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Yeppers, if you haven't a spare monitor or card to check it with then take it back.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 01:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

ya, with prebuilts you really can't swap anything out without voiding warranty.

If your doing heavy gamming sometimes a computer will freeze or shut down because of overheating or there being insufficent RAM or the setting are to high, you get my point.

After playing farcry for awhile on high setting my video card will die on me and reset itself I still need to restart though. It happens. My issue is related to heat, my room gets really hot.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 01:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Well thanks a lot you guys!
__________________

In Need is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.