I need help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2007, 09:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default I need help!!!

hey everyone, i just finished building my pc yesterday! and i was surprised it booted up the first shot! first pc build ever! anyways, i boot it and all, and yeah this is the first time im doing this, so it asks for a boot disk. So i presumed that it was the cd my mobo came with. so i popped that in.

theres 3 options, like raid drivers,freedos, and someother thing, i tried em all, and they all say to put in a floppy disk, and i never got a floppy disk of anysort. SO i dont know what to do now. (gotta say i didnt buy a floppy drive either hah hoping i didnt have to).

What am i supposed to do? i can go into the BIOS settings, and stuff. but im so lost.. i just want to install windows!
__________________

sl4ppinb4ss3r is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default

Put your Windows CD in your computer and when you restart it will say "press any key to boot from CD" press the any key (space bar) and the install program will start. jsut follow the onscreen directions to partition and format your hard drive, then it will restart and you can install the OS. Good Luck.
__________________

bigbaddog is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default

okay ill give it a shot!
thanks man!
sl4ppinb4ss3r is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default

yea! it didnt work! : ( , it just didnt say the press any key to boot. im still getting the black screen with my specs, well not really, it says my HDD, cd drive, memory and stuff, and its still got press DEL to go into setup (bios) and F1 to continue. still wont work if i press F1 and pop in the windows cd. i thought of this now, would i have to go into bios and set the boot priorities to like cd drive first? i think its set at floppy, and seeing as how i dont have a floppy, i could set it to disabled?

EDIT: i guess i should mention what mobo i got.. its the
Asus M2N-E
sl4ppinb4ss3r is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default

still not working! i managed to put my cd drive on master ide and not slave so thats a good thing ithink, i set priority to the cd drive, then hdd and disabled the other things, and my windows cd still wont boot. i dont know what else to do..
sl4ppinb4ss3r is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

the disk that came with your mobo is NOT an OS disk.
you need to get a valid OS disk, that is all...
__________________

__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.