i must be stupid or something... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2005, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default i must be stupid or something...

but i cant for the life of me remember how to reformat?!...

i did some searching... and none of the topics seemed familar...

all i do is change in the bios to boot off the cdrom and make sure the winxp cd is in there... right???

god its been such a long *** time since ive done this...

also... i when i finally get this to work, i want to create a separate partition for windows... question is... how big should it be? 20gb? 30gb? i have 120gb to spare...

please help... this is driving me nuts!
__________________

__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

10gb would be the lowest I would go with for an O/S Partition. You could use a windows 98cd to boot into dos and use fdisk to create a 10gb partition then format it when you install the O/S.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q255867/
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^ Even better.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q255867/
APPLIES TO
• Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition
• Microsoft Windows 98 Standard Edition
• Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition
• Microsoft Windows 95
• Microsoft Windows 95 OEM Service Release 2
• Microsoft Windows 95 OEM Service Release 2.1
• Microsoft Windows 95 OEM Service Release 2.5

i have xp pro...
__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Stick in your windows xp cd... reboot...
Press any key to boot to CD...
Install Xp...
Delete partition...
Create partition....
Format in NTFS....
Install Windows Xp
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Stick in your windows xp cd... reboot...
Press any key to boot to CD...
Install Xp...
Delete partition...
Create partition....
Format in NTFS....
Install Windows Xp
im doing that exact thing... but i think i know where my probem lies... i have a usb keyboard... and when the press any key comes up... i cant press any key... cause my keyboard doesnt activate till windows starts.... time to break out the usb > ps2 adapter...
__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:

"time to break out the usb > ps2 adapter...



word
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

correct...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default

now im to that point... gonna create a partition just for windows and one for games and data....

heres what i have

C: Partition1 [New <Raw> ] 24mb <23mb free>
G: Partition2 [New <Raw> ] 114440mb <114439mb free>
Unpartitioned space 8mb


thats what it should be right, if i want a separate partition for windows xp?
__________________

__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.