I have some questions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Post I have some questions.

Hello,
My LT Compaq Armada 1500c has a CD-ROM of Mat****a Ujda Company. No problem with this…but sometimes I’ve seen that my cd-rom tries to configure out which CD it can handle well. It sounds absurd…but it rejects Moser Baer cd and accepts Sony cd.
As I am still using Windows Me OS, I came to know about a funny thing. After a fresh installation of Windows Me OS on a HD, if one tries to open Internet explorer. Even though connected, the web page will never open! Coz then one has to click on My Network Places and then on Home Networking Wizard till one accomplish a network on its own single pc…LOL. I don’t know if such exists on other OS as well.
Now the main questions-
1) There is a program running on my LT. Perhaps its included in Windows ME OS. It’s designated as ‘unknown.’ Whenever I am doing some installation of system utility programs on my LT, and somehow if the system rejects to configure the installation. Then the ‘unknown’ program props up and stops the installation. Even a funny notice is displayed by my OS- ‘the actions are rejected because of administrator effects on this pc. You should have administrator rights.’ How can I get rid of this ‘unknown’ program? Or is it common in every OS?
2) Whenever I insert a cd containing programs that need zip applications for installation, the icons of zip software are shown differently. I already have WinZip 9.0 and WinZip Self-Extractor 2.2 installed on my LT. But the icons configured by these two above applications are different. Ever heard of Nico Mak Company, in its interface there is an option for using WinZip too. But when I click that, it says- ‘no WinZip utility found!’ Any solutions?

Truly yours’
The Phantom
__________________

phantom555 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
As I am still using Windows Me OS
That is your problem.
DONT use windows ME
it just causes problems. Even windows 95 will work better, and its old!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 03:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: I have some questions.

Quote:
Originally posted by phantom555
Hello,
My LT Compaq Armada 1500c has a CD-ROM of Mat****a Ujda Company. No problem with this…but sometimes I’ve seen that my cd-rom tries to configure out which CD it can handle well. It sounds absurd…but it rejects Moser Baer cd and accepts Sony cd.
As I am still using Windows Me OS, I came to know about a funny thing. After a fresh installation of Windows Me OS on a HD, if one tries to open Internet explorer. Even though connected, the web page will never open! Coz then one has to click on My Network Places and then on Home Networking Wizard till one accomplish a network on its own single pc…LOL. I don’t know if such exists on other OS as well.
Now the main questions-
1) There is a program running on my LT. Perhaps its included in Windows ME OS. It’s designated as ‘unknown.’ Whenever I am doing some installation of system utility programs on my LT, and somehow if the system rejects to configure the installation. Then the ‘unknown’ program props up and stops the installation. Even a funny notice is displayed by my OS- ‘the actions are rejected because of administrator effects on this pc. You should have administrator rights.’ How can I get rid of this ‘unknown’ program? Or is it common in every OS?
2) Whenever I insert a cd containing programs that need zip applications for installation, the icons of zip software are shown differently. I already have WinZip 9.0 and WinZip Self-Extractor 2.2 installed on my LT. But the icons configured by these two above applications are different. Ever heard of Nico Mak Company, in its interface there is an option for using WinZip too. But when I click that, it says- ‘no WinZip utility found!’ Any solutions?

Truly yours’
The Phantom
uninstall winzip and what happens
derrmc is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 04:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Thumbs down hmmm

I am in favour of windows ME. I posted this thread coz i thought it would bring forth notice to others who might have faced such problems and are willing to talk about......as such is the case that in the last one year....i've seen that apart from curing, the people sitting on this forums are making matter much worse with their stupid awkward suggestions. Even a pcworld mag makes sense and is easy to understand.

Uninstalling dosen't help.

-----------------
Phantom
phantom555 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.