I have a query? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2005, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Question I have a query?

Twice this has happened- i had my computer system to freeze for some time and then i had to shut it down. Then after starting it again, just at the moment "compaq" name signs off and a black screen appears...an error sign is shown with a beep!.
Error sign- "I/O ROM Error"....i have forgotten if there was a number written with it.
Any answers as to what is it?.
__________________

phantom555 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

sounds like hardware failure. you could try clearing cmos and/or changing the mobo battery.


I/o = input/output, rom = read only memory (typically on the mobo)
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Post *sigh*

How to clear CMOS?.
...And whats the meaning of mobo battery?.

--------------
phantom
phantom555 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.computing-forums.com/comp...r-cmos-451.htm
office politics is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 04:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Lightbulb *sign*

Configuring out alien technology.

"Its been very few days when i came to feel my own pc at my own home. My specification were not much to boast at and i've even forgotten what i was taught in my college. I have only once opened the keyboard section of my laptop, just to check out where is that they say,"to upgrade the ram chip."
What i found was a board filled with complex chipsets and ICs.
Now i feel really lazy to open the case again and check if there is somewhere written- CMOS!.
What i did was after those faults i removed my battery case, and let my pc to cool. After some time, with power directly from cord, i turned on the my computer. And the error disappeared!.

-----------------
phantom"
phantom555 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

if it happens again, and its from over heating there is a pad you can get to attach to the bottom (much like a docking station) and all it is is a pad with fans on the bottom for extra cooling.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Exclamation Oi

Specify plz with links and pics if possible.
phantom555 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

k, here are a few examples, else just do a google for "laptop cooling pads".. make sure its an active pad (has fans) and not just a tilt pad as they are more for stationary, and hard to use in your lap and what not.
http://www.xoxide.com/evnopad.html

http://www.hardwarecooling.com/default.php/cPath/33
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Default

"Yes , i checked those pics about those so called 'cooling PADS'.
When were they built?. Never heard of such things before. I don't know at what temperatures newer versions of laptop work!. I touched the lower side of laptop, and its very mild.
I would love to do one thing, after my surfing gets over; i'll switch off the mains and let the battery discharge. Supercool.
Anyway, i'll hang on to what's left!."

-----------
phantom
phantom555 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

hmm... thought you said it was running hot.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.