I hate steam, i hate valve - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2005, 08:05 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

thanks for all your opinions
legally im not alowed to work a sadly, ive tried getting unnoficial jobs with computer shops but they say im too young and they can get in trouble if they hire me.

Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 10:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 87

-100 ? not quite. He probably moved there later on in life, come on people.

starforsaken is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 07:22 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

if you can't return it, or have no luck calling Valve, there is Half Life game of the year edition for $20 aus selling in a lot of places
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 12:27 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

wow, it's amazing how few of you actually read what anyone else wrote... No ofense meant...

anyway, as it was pointed out by digitaloracle on the first page, Valve is willing you help you if you contact them... If you have not done that yet, then DO IT!!!
Yes, I live in Anchorage Alaska. Ive been here for a little over 5 years. I was born and Raised in Missoula Montana. I moved from there when I was 19 to pursue schooling at UAF, but never left Anchorage.
Yes, it's a little colder here than some places, but Anchorage is a coastal city. it doens't get really supper cold here. -20f is ussually the worst. the interior of Alaska gets very cold -50f and colder in the winter, but it also gets above 80f in the summer.
I work in the northern reaches of the state at times, in the oil fields, and it can get down right cold up there. -80f without wind, but that is rare... it will get to the point where metal becomes brittle and then nothing happens and we all stay inside... What fun...
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 02:31 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:21 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

There's a lot of stock in the phrase "Up a creek without a paddle."

You never never never never never never never never never never throw away ANYTHING from a pruchase until you have assurance (totally) that it works. That's your life lesson this round, and if it was a hard lesson, the better it be.

The only thing we can say is for you to call up Sierra/Valve and play verbal games with them. Given the high amount of piracy that happens, you're likely to just get hung-up on. And I wouldn't blame them. It's very difficult for them, on the other end of a phone 300 miles away, to prove you're legit [no matter what] and they aren't easily going to give out a key.

If you can't get Sierra/Valve to give you a new key, you're S.O.L.

End of story.

Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 04:34 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

ive found the box, im gunna ring up **** smith electronics today
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 05:55 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to Borgmeister

Screw valve, steam was a monumental cock-up- and it hit them where it hurts, apparently they have only sold 1.7M copies world wide, halo 2 caned them, and imho was teh better game, I waited 4, count em, 4 hours for my game to unlock, that was on midnight of day of purchase, besides, i think i lost the game now, and certaintly have no desire to go through it again.
My \'Rig\' (how ghey does that sound?

AMD Athlon 2500+ Mobile@ 2400Mhz
1024 Mb Corsair XMS 3200 DDR RAM(the stufff with the activity LEDs)
ABIT Radeon 9550(water cooling accident)
Jeantech Butterfly V2 Easy maintainence case
Abit AN7 \"guru\" Motherboard
2x 160Gb Samsung SP160N HDD
Netgear 802.11g Wireless Network/Gigabit Ethernet.

Mail me on Borgmeister(at)Gmail(dot).com for invites if you want!
Borgmeister is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:31 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530

Halo 2 was released a long time ago and is a console, because of the latter it can lick my B****. Its not the same type of thing, consoles sell more all the time, theres more little kiddies playing them. 4hours? musta been excruciating, I pre-loaded and installed mine right away. If youd rather play a repeat shooter with a fatty controller in hand then go ahead, I prefer to be at least somewhat mentally engaged and would like to know that my skills whatever they may be are genuine and my ability to scroll is inconsequential. I play the most difficult and real of the platforms, the pc.

Yes Wayne, i had a problem with steam, it took me 5 minutes to find and solve my problem about "steam servers being busy", and there had to be at least 10 threads on the steam forums talking about valid cdkey problems.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:18 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725

While I was browsing info on the program and all the procedures ine has to go through to perform even the simplest of tasks, I was appauled by their handling of "offline" mode. From what I gathered, if you click the wrong thing, it, without any sort of confirmation, "signs you out" or whatever it does, and you MUST find a net connection before you can even play again. I naturally don't know where everyone else has LAN parties, but the ones I attend are at a camp in the middle of nowhere, with only a dial-up connection that the party-goers aren't allowed to use. It would almost be comical (sad and frustrating, but still comical) to watch 8-10 sleep deprived gamers explode at the stupidity of steam.

AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.