I GOT Windows 2000!!!!!! WOOOOOO!!!!! :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2004, 12:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Talking I GOT Windows 2000!!!!!! WOOOOOO!!!!! :)

I Got Windows 2000 Professional in the mail!!!! After all those years of using Win98SE, I finally got an OS that isn't on the verge of extinction!!! But this is the thing though, I thought that when i was finished installing 2000, that my computer would be to slow to use, right? Wrong!! It's THREE TIMES FASTER than it was when i had 98!!!! How is that possible??? 2000 is soo-much larger than 98! It allso overclocked my ram by it's self! (Who told it to do that?-LOL ) But regardless of all the cool stuff in 98, the most important part of the experiance is; I CAN USE Photoshop and Creative Suite CS NOW!! WOOOOT!!!

Thanks Jacksback!!!
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

congrats on your new OS and not giving into XP activation. Haven't really used 2000 but how are the multimedia functions?? and is it like XP where if you put in new hardware/USB object it auto detects and installs or do you need drivers???
__________________

quartz01 is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Criscie Poppin..."

Yeah. It's the same. Same driver functions, same autodetect window thing, Everything.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 02:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: "Criscie Poppin..."

Quote:
Originally posted by ATIRAGEPRO
Yeah. It's the same. Same driver functions, same autodetect window thing, Everything.
Went back to 2000 after xp. Stroooooooooooongly recommend it!
derrmc is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

ATI, am glad you like it....please be sure you download all the updates from MS. there should be like 40 critical, 9 regular, and 1 driver. this way it'll be so much more stable.

--jak
jaksback is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default

idk about which is better xp pro or 2k pro... It depends on the system specs. I've worked on about 50 or so systems with about 25 XP and 25 2k and I noticed that the 2k's usually had more problems than the XP's. Although it could be because of who was using them in a lot of cases it was just the exploits in the systems. (like how netsky got around)
__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Windows 2000 would be my favorite OS if it wasn't for my XP Pro. I'm glad you like it ATI, its about time you got off Windows 98.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Congratz!

2k is great!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 10:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Default

win 2000 is stable and pretty reliant. I still use it on one of my boxes for backup. it requires so many updates. keep service pack 4 available on CD. and defrag often.
NYCtech174 is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 02:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

2000 ain't got nothin' on XP. End of story.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.