I currently use this TV Tuner on my 19"LCD for reg cable via Coax..Digital box or HD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default I currently use this TV Tuner on my 19"LCD for reg cable via Coax..Digital box or HD?

Hi guys. I have a 19" LCD Monitor and the KWorld TV Box 1440.

:::: Welcome to KWorld Computer U.S.A. Branch Office home page :::::

I run the regular standard cable into the TV box tuner and then that sends a VGA input into the LCD monitor (so I can use my LCD monitor as a standard TV).

Is there any possible way (including getting some more cables if needed) to get from my cable company a Digital TV box or even an HD TV box and have it go into the Tuner and then into my TV (can I get digital or HD TV on the monitor?)

Or do I need a new tuner? like :::: Welcome to KWorld Computer U.S.A. Branch Office home page :::::

or like
:::: Welcome to KWorld Computer U.S.A. Branch Office home page :::::

or are those 2 PC only?

Thanks so much. I'm a noob. Please help :-D
__________________

rocket1406 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default Re: I currently use this TV Tuner on my 19"LCD for reg cable via Coax..Digital box or

or do I need one of these:

http://www.kworldcomputer.com/produc...0ex_tv_box.htm

1680ex TV Box

or the 1680R
http://www.kworldcomputer.com/produc...80lcdtvbox.htm

I Don't Know what the difference between those two products are.

Also what is the difference between these 2 and the ATSC ones I listed above.
__________________

rocket1406 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default Re: I currently use this TV Tuner on my 19"LCD for reg cable via Coax..Digital box or

I think the difference is that the ATSC ones I listed are for computer. I don't want to use a computer.

I think I need the 1680 but those are analog tuners... an HD box would need a digital external tuner right?

But I can get Digital TV through S-Video through the current 1440 tuner I use right now right?
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: I currently use this TV Tuner on my 19"LCD for reg cable via Coax..Digital box or

It appears that these devices aren't actually the tuner. They take the signal from a tuner and convert that signal to one your monitor can display. With that in mind, the first device you mentioned doesn't have component jacks. So I doubt if you could get true HD out of it. It's possible to convert component to composite or s-video, but you lose quality that way and it's not true HD.

The links in your 2nd post didn't work.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default Re: I currently use this TV Tuner on my 19"LCD for reg cable via Coax..Digital box or

Thanks.

The links in the 2nd post should be:

:::: Welcome to KWorld Computer U.S.A. Branch Office home page :::::

and

:::: Welcome to KWorld Computer U.S.A. Branch Office home page :::::

I'm thinking about just getting Digital TV (box) and seeing if it will work with my current 1440x resolution external Tuner. That should run fine through the SVideo, into the external Tuner, into the Monitor?

These 2 items I posted... their resolution appears to be 1680x ... would that affect picture quality of a Digital TV signal? I heard somewhere that Digital TV is only 720x so it shouldn't matter. Is this true?
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: I currently use this TV Tuner on my 19"LCD for reg cable via Coax..Digital box or

Yeah, get one of those other two and you won't have any problem at all. I think that you would lose some quality with the first one you posted, though.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.