I cant install games anymore..PLease help me! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 10:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yeah, this sounds like you have a really old game and are trying to play it on the latest OS. Good luck with that.

Sometimes I can get them to work if I just do a frenzy of retries...Other times I have to set the compatability mode to run in ultra-dumb mode.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 113
Default

I did one strange thing that cured that problem.

Navigate to your Windows/System32 folder and verify that the Autoexec.NT file is really in there.

In my case, it wasn't, but it was somewhere else. So in that case, I ran the "Search" feature , in both search fields I typed "autoexec.nt", and it should find it somewhere in your PC.

Once it finds the file, place it in your Windows/System32 directory and see if that solves the problem.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
I\'m not a vegetable!
RedRecon2004 is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 11:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 63
Default

i did a format which fixed the problem I think the autoexec.nt was completely missing.I was trying to put in some drivers for my printer and scanner which are 16 bit so I kinda needed them I'm still working out how to use xp I'm used to 98se but I guess I will muddle my way though thanks for all your help
madmum is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 08:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RedRecon2004
I did one strange thing that cured that problem.

Navigate to your Windows/System32 folder and verify that the Autoexec.NT file is really in there.

In my case, it wasn't, but it was somewhere else. So in that case, I ran the "Search" feature , in both search fields I typed "autoexec.nt", and it should find it somewhere in your PC.

Once it finds the file, place it in your Windows/System32 directory and see if that solves the problem.

Good luck!
For anyone else experiencing this problem I did exactly what RedRedcon suggested and it solved my problem also.
wxcpo is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 08:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

All VM Ware is a program to run mulitple OS'es on. It like Microsoft Virtual PC 2004. A lot of helpdesks use this type of software that have all the OS'es on it. Makes it more effeicent and low cost.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 09:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

yeah, VMWare will also allow him to use Dos based programs that have a problem running in windowsXP compatability modes. Used it to run older ultima games.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 09:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: I cant install games anymore..PLease help me!

wen i insert a game cd it'l bring up this error and it says this.

-16 bit Windows Subsystem-

C:/Windows/System32/Autoexec.NT The system file is not suitable
for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.

Try this:
MS-DOS or 16-bit Windows-based program Error Message

This installation program will reinstall the missing or corrupt Windows XP system files command.com, autoexec.nt and config.nt. The absence or corruption of one or more of these files causes a "16 Bit Subsystem" error.

XP_Fix.EXE by TRF Systems, Inc



http://www.visualtour.com/downloads/xp_fix.exe
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.