I am at my limit here. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to phil372
Default I am at my limit here.

I really hope someone has a clue here at a totaly lose what to do. I am getting 2 different blue stop screens with 0x00000050 as well as 0x00000051 I have been trying to reload my xp pro windows will not boot in any mode, I was starting off orginally trying to fix a missing or corrupted windows/system32/config/system file that the error was saying. Then computer started acting funny and freezing and very unstable and then I heard a clicking sound coming from my hard drive. thats when the thing died shortly thereafter.
the background of the hard drive is I bought it used after the orginal one died that was in my laptop and this one lasted oh a week, and now this. So do you think its the crappy hd again I bought and it wasnt good, or maybe something else i need to have a look at? I have another hard drive being sent along with some extra ram, but coming from Australia so may be a bit.
any help or ideas whats wrong will be greatly appreciated thanks alot.
__________________

phil372 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

the clanking from the hard drive can really only mean one thing. A slow painful death.

You will need to boot from another drive and slave that one off. Either using USB or direct connect. It's a laptop drive so unless you can find a way to plug it into another laptop in secondary mode, you will need to get a desktop adapter. connect it and try to get what you can off. Being that it's dying, it would take a bit of luck to get it working so you can boot to it.

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you post the rest of the error codes?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

its your hard drive, i guarante it
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to phil372
Default

oh sure well here is one batch of codes the other I must have misplaced but can get those as well casue the errors are different for both ways from repair the file to a new install, but here is one batch. 0x00000050 (0xelld3000,ox000000,0xb07ca392,0x00000001
maybe that will help on that one.
Oh thanks ya all for the info, its lucky I dont really have that much data on it cept a game, which will be a pain as its a 353mb patch I have to reinstall. Its very frustrating this is as ya can imagine. oh and whats even worse i had a local tech shop to look at it before and the silly guy put the cooling fan upside down,LOL. I am lucky I caught it relatively fast or could have had major issues with the processor I'm sure. then I would have been outta luck in another way.
phil372 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is that for WOW? if it is, you dont need to reinstall it, copy the whole wow folder to the cd and then copy it back to the new install, then make anew shortcut to the desktop, and thats it. Ive tried it for my brother and it does work.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to phil372
Default

Oh great yeah it is for wow as a matter of fact. but the problem will be I am not sure i am gonna be able to even get into windows to copy it and if its my hard drive i may not be able to recover anything. I am sure gonna try though.thanks again.
phil372 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well what i would do is what for the new harddrive and then set it up as a slave. Have you tried a repair?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to phil372
Default

yeah I have tried repair and the blue stop screen pops up and restarts from the bios again. I have even tried a install but the same thing happens when it accesses the h/d it goes no farther. I just hope its nothing more than the hd thats bad on me. cause as i was saying there was a clicking type whining sound right as it was going beserk on me. and then windows wouldnt boot again.
phil372 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to phil372
Default

oh btw and also when I tried everything at the screen where you can install and also repair windows wasnt recognized like it didnt have anything. I dont get it I am at a total impasse with it and can only hope the other h/d gets here fast before this desktop decides to crash and burn its an old system.
__________________

phil372 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.