I am having trouble uninstalling Windows XP - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 08:37 PM   #51 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Ok
__________________

akkid is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:39 PM   #52 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

So the same CD that reinstalls XP should have some drivers on it as well?
__________________

akkid is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:41 PM   #53 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Nope it will be a different CD labled "Drivers". Usually blue in color. If not you can go to www.dell.com and download them all.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:51 PM   #54 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

ohh ok yeah I found the Drivers And Utilities disk.
akkid is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:19 PM   #55 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

OK...my OS is installed...should I just go to windows update to get updates?
akkid is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:32 PM   #56 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Install a firewall first and go get your updates and have fun with all the reboots.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:47 PM   #57 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

lol..I will...my screen is still big..I cant find any drivers for it on a CD so I guess I will go to Dell and try to find it...
akkid is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:02 PM   #58 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

I got my sound back from the Drivers and Utilities Disk but I can't find the Graphics card driver on the disk or the Dell website, do you know where I can get it?
akkid is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:25 PM   #59 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

What chip-set is your graphics card, Nvidia or ATI?

>> right click "My Computer"
>> choose "properties"
>> click the "hardware" tab
>> go to "device manager"
>> display adapters

What does it say under display adapters?

If you have an Nvidia card you need to go to Nvidia's website and get the drivers from them. Likewise if you have a card with an ATI chip-set, you will go to ATI's website for their drivers.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:43 PM   #60 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

There is no Display Adapters
__________________

akkid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.