I am having trouble uninstalling Windows XP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2005, 05:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

mirror 1 2 3 are different servers that have the same file on it, you can download from any of them
__________________

__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Thank You I will try dowloading the bootdisk and I'll see what happens.
__________________

akkid is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

But why would I need a Windows 98 one if I have XP?
akkid is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

If you use XP's, there are a lot of bootdisks, the most common and easiest to use is Windows 98.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

ohh OK...but what Windows 98 do I want to use

Windows 98 OEM or
Windows 98 Custom, No Ramdrive
akkid is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 06:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

oem
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 06:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks pctech86, I see you're from Alaska...that's cool I am too.
akkid is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 07:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

After it was done downloading it tells me to insert a floppy to write...so I did and it says

"Disk error on track 1, head 1 Error in reading"

Does this mean in need to get a new floppy?
akkid is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Alright I got the Bootdisk now what do I do?
akkid is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:00 AM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

forget all of that. use powermax floppy or cd (below in my signature) to wipe it. it quicker, faster and better (it will erase the mbr, something windows tools can't do)
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.