Hyper Threading?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 12:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default Hyper Threading?!

You can see my system in my sig bleow. I have Win2K, and my P4 has HT of course. Is HT not supported on Win2K? If so, how do I make it support it?
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Hyperthreading is supported with 2k. All that hyperthreading does is make the OS think that it is running on dual processors, instead of the single processor that is installed.

This is the problem that I've run into with it, though. If you install 2k with hyperthreading turned off, then turn it on at some later point, winblows won't see the "second" processor. Same thing happened to me when I reinstalled windows with hyperthreading on, then turned it off. When I went to turn it back on, winblows only recognized one processor. I was told that there is supposed to be a way to enable dual processor support after the install is complete, but I haven't been able to find it.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

When I upgrade to XP, I won't have this problem though, right?
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

here is the click, press ctrl+alt+del on ur Win2K, and see proiceses, if there are 2 graphs on ur CPU graph (side by side) means that you have HT enabled on ur mobo, and as well ur CPU is HT supportive.

as if there is only 1 graph, means either ur CPU isnt HT, or u have got HT disabled on ur Mobo BIOS.

else Win2K and XP both are HT enabled (that is for sure).
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.