HUGE problem!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2005, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249
Default HUGE problem!!

Here is the sequence of events:
I download AVAST from
I proceed with setup, and restart my computer and KABLOOEY!!!
My OS no longer works it seems, I am presented with a Blue Screen (the infamous blue screen of death?) that reads:

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen , restart your computer. If this screen appears again follow these steps:
check for viruses on your computer. Remove any new hard drives or hard drive controllers. Check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured and terminated. Run CHSDSK /F to check for hard drive corruption, and then restart your computer.

I am so upset about this guys, I don't know what to do. Windows wont even load completely...I can get my background loaded (after a really long wait) but no icons or the taskbar, just the background. I can get in task manager. I tried running explore.exe and it says that process does not exist or something. I tried installing an updated version of XP and even a new install and I still have the same ****ty problem.
I need some serious, serious help here guys, please.

P.S. I did have one virus at the time (that I know of) I had it for a little while, I hadn't gotten to delete it at the time of this disaster. Everything went to **** after I downloaded AVAST, thats all I know.

DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 10:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479

try hit f8 when boot and go into safe mode to clean out virus and do other stuff suggested.. and try uninstall AVAST while ur at it

there *might* be an option to boot to last known good configuration, i'm not sure, if there is, try that..

lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 01:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249

hey furtivefelon, that seems to have worked thanks a lot brother.
but now I seem to have a new, much more minor problem. Whenever I restart my computer unless I choose to boot up XP Home Edition when, well, booting up it automatically goes into windows setup and inevitably comes to the afforementioned blue screen...
DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725

I beleive that after install AVAST asks if you want to scedule a boot time scan. Did you do that? If so, that might be the probelm, though I can't imagine why.

So far you have done (after avast)
1.Safemode uninstall of avast
2. Afterwards, windows did not load properly
3. Updated windows
4. Reinstalled windows

As I see it, if you actually reinstalled windows. there should not be any more problems, especially if you reformated during that install.
I think the windows installer should delete any refrence to itself once it has finished installeing, so I don't know what caused your new probelm. However, start>run>"msconfig" [enter]>boot tab (I think)> select MS home

I'm on a public computer right now , so I don't have the rights to check out what I just said, but have a look and post back.
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 03:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249

thanks I'll try that, but, so you know, I dont think any of my previous attempts to reinstall windows were successful
DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 03:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249

hey digitaloracle, thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I open the general tab of msconfig and just chose normal startup and that seems to have worked. Now I just hoped there's nothing f'ed up going on behind the scenes. And I just wish I knew how this all happened in the first place.
DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 10:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Try this:

Start>Run>Type MSCONFIG>boot.ini tab>Check all boot paths, click ok to remove it if it found something, and reboot.

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.