Huge emergency. Locks up at welcome screen! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 12:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to vumpler Send a message via AIM to vumpler
Default

but the r isnt an option is what sucks :/
__________________

__________________
GA-K8NF-9
6800GT PCI-E
Athlon_64_3500+
Antec_True_Blue_480_PSU
Maxtor_300GB_8MB_7200RPM
2x512_pc3200 (winbond moduled)
RazerDiamondback Mouse (Best Ever)
vumpler is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Delete everything to do with DesktopX, can't you get to the registry? I'm not positive, but I'm pretty sure you can.
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to vumpler Send a message via AIM to vumpler
Default

Well I took the hard drive out, put it in my pc, went to the desktop x folder, ran the uninstall, then deleted the folder. I did the same with WindowsFX and nothing... Registry now thats something different. How should I get in there? What tool? I know I could use (actually can't think of the name of it) but i think thats only for at boot. What do you suggest?
__________________
GA-K8NF-9
6800GT PCI-E
Athlon_64_3500+
Antec_True_Blue_480_PSU
Maxtor_300GB_8MB_7200RPM
2x512_pc3200 (winbond moduled)
RazerDiamondback Mouse (Best Ever)
vumpler is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 04:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to RevCor632
Default

Start > Run > Regedit
RevCor632 is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 05:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

but he can't get there, because it freezes at the welcome screen
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 08:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Does the program run in safe mode??? I thought in 16 bit operation it wouldn't run.... :amazed: . So technically, you're system shouldn't be affected by DesktopX in safe mode...right...?

Could it be something else?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to vumpler Send a message via AIM to vumpler
Default

not that I can think of D:
__________________
GA-K8NF-9
6800GT PCI-E
Athlon_64_3500+
Antec_True_Blue_480_PSU
Maxtor_300GB_8MB_7200RPM
2x512_pc3200 (winbond moduled)
RazerDiamondback Mouse (Best Ever)
vumpler is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Have you tried doing a CHKDSK on your hard drive?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 03:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to vumpler Send a message via AIM to vumpler
Default

yeah i ran that.. didn't do anything. said no errors.
__________________
GA-K8NF-9
6800GT PCI-E
Athlon_64_3500+
Antec_True_Blue_480_PSU
Maxtor_300GB_8MB_7200RPM
2x512_pc3200 (winbond moduled)
RazerDiamondback Mouse (Best Ever)
vumpler is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 11:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to vumpler Send a message via AIM to vumpler
Default

Now i can't even get the hard drive to read in the origional PC Sad IT just says device 0 not installed.. wtf? I reset the cmos and nothing...
__________________

__________________
GA-K8NF-9
6800GT PCI-E
Athlon_64_3500+
Antec_True_Blue_480_PSU
Maxtor_300GB_8MB_7200RPM
2x512_pc3200 (winbond moduled)
RazerDiamondback Mouse (Best Ever)
vumpler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.