http:// and http://www - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2004, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default http:// and http://www

what is the difference between websites using:

http://something.com

and

http://www.something.com


Thanks
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

Well the Http is the protocol that it uses and www isn't really nessecary. You can enter any website without the www and it will go to the same place.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 02:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Sometimes, it doesnt fin any page without the W's. How come?
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 02:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

its really simple.

in the past, the WWW was needed to define the internet protocol for the address. Technology has transcended this and now a good number of addresses with modern servers can do without the WWW . however some websites still operate with the NEED for the WWW, so that is why.

the first site to use this was http://www.com
__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

www should be the default subdomain in webserver software. there could be other subdomains such as forum.csamuelsfake.com
office politics is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I know that some websites will ONLY work if there's a www in front of it. Other sites will work with both www and nothing and then there's some sites where www will not work.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

My site works with both.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Good, that's ideal for websites these days.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.