HP Won't Boot From CD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2005, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 27
Angry HP Won't Boot From CD

I have an HP Pavilion 310n that I am trying to fix. It got bombarded with spyware and started running really slow, so I decided it was time to reinstall the OS. Problem is, it will not boot from cd. I know it's not my disk I've used it at least 20 times before on other machines and it comes up with the "press any key to boot from cd." This machine won't. I already tried changing the boot order, and had cd rom at the top. I also tried installing it over the other OS, which it did fine but did not format the hard drive. All of the old junk and program files are still there. How do i get this machine to boot from cd? It is so annoying I'm almost ready to just throw it out the window.
__________________

alexrjohnson is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

try a different cd-rom drive...
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I used to have that p.o.s. I had a problem reformatting & installing windows from the cds that HP sent me so I called them and had them send me a new set of cds.
__________________
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Yeah but I'm fixing it for a friend and only have my windows xp pro sp2 cd.
alexrjohnson is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 11:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Go into your bios and disable your hard drive and a drive every drive but the cd rom then it should work.Just remember after it gets installed and it starts to reboot catch it befor it restarts and reinable the hard drive and any other disabled drives.and then reboot.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sPlAtOiD
Go into your bios and disable your hard drive and a drive every drive but the cd rom then it should work.Just remember after it gets installed and it starts to reboot catch it befor it restarts and reinable the hard drive and any other disabled drives.and then reboot.
There ya go! If it still won't boot to the cd then that cd is heavily scratched or damaged in some way!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.