HP version of Windows XP pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2004, 06:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default HP version of Windows XP pro

I was wondering if the Hewlett Packard version of windows XP is any different from the standard version of XP. I ask because im just about to install it onto a system.


Thanks.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Probably has some HP crap pre-installed, and some logo's. Anybody has more info?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

would the perinstalled stuff make any performance difference to windows or gaming do you think??
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Probably not, unless when it runs a lot of programs in the background. But I doubt it will make any difference.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I've tried to install dell software on one of my old pc's (it was xp) and it wouldn't work because it couldn't find the dell modified hardware.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.