How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2008, 08:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

I did delete all the registry related, common file and symantic files and tried to uninstall norton antivirus corporate edition from my server, No luck, could anyone please help me to completely uninstall NAV from my Win2k3 server ?

Thank you.
__________________

linux1880 is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

Did you go into control panel>add/remove programs and remove it there before you deleted stuff? You also usually have to download a norton removal tool. Download and run the Norton Removal Tool
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

Go to symantec.com and download a program called "nonav" works like a charm.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

I dont even bother using Add/Remove programs with Norton programs anymore. I just use the Norton Removal Tool that dave linked to, and it takes care of everything in 1 sweep.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

what happened was i mistakely installed windows vista NAV on SBS 2003 server and it's giving problem time to time as well as there is no way I can find to uninstall. I did even try to uninstall it by again installing with that CD, I did try to repair but nothing works

I am really in big problem.
linux1880 is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

anyone ?
linux1880 is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

As stated by Dave in the 2nd post. You have to run the Norton Removal tool.

Download and run the Norton Removal Tool

That will uninstall all instances of Norton.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
As stated by Dave in the 2nd post. You have to run the Norton Removal tool.

Download and run the Norton Removal Tool

That will uninstall all instances of Norton.
It'll uninstall anything related to Symantec too, actually. Had Ghost on my old computer, and used that tool to get rid of NIS, and Ghost went away too, heh.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 07:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

None of the norton removal works. Now what I did is deleted everything related to norton from registry and C:\programs file\ symantec. It's getting even worse, I tried from safe mode nothing workd,

this bloody norton is freaking problamtic software. if anyone have any idea, I would be so much thankful to you.
linux1880 is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 08:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: How to uninstall Norton AV on Win2K3 server ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
It'll uninstall anything related to Symantec too, actually. Had Ghost on my old computer, and used that tool to get rid of NIS, and Ghost went away too, heh.
Yeah, if you are using program like WinFax, then you might want to back up your address book.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Server and WEB server? PRVRT Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 01-04-2008 12:14 AM
Trying to Run a Dedicated Server on my server and then playing it on a different PC SYL\X/3K Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-09-2007 06:33 PM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM
Convince me to build a server.....please jfenwick System Upgrades 5 10-30-2007 01:27 PM
SBS Preium and Windows Terminal server kfinchie Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-26-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.