how to shut windows down at a certian time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2006, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default how to shut windows down at a certian time

is there any way to make your pc shut down/startup without you doing anything.

Say i have gone to bed and i want my pc to automaticly shut down at a certain time while i am alseep!
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.chosensoft.com/shutdown-buddy/index.htm
http://www.aquariussoft.com/default.asp

or just go to power options and set a time limit
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

1. i want one thats free
2. how do you set time limit on power ops
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Go to Control Panel -> Power Options -> Set the System to Standby (basically the same as turning off) at a certain amount of hours.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

what does putting the sys in standby do. is it the same as going START>SHUTDOWN in windows
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it just puts your computer is a low power state, like its sleeping but not turned off
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 01:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

i want it completly turned off
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 01:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

I use Switch Off 2.3 to set my PC to shutdown at a specific time. It's small, free and easy to use.

You can also choose other power options and system states, like hibernate, standby, logoff, lock and restart. You can specify a warning message delay and sound alert, as well as remote shutdown via web interface using this program.

http://www.download.com/Switch-Off/3...-10154101.html

Remember to specify the time in 24 hour format.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 02:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 277
Send a message via Yahoo to real_in
Default

there is a very very simple method and if u want i can write a small app for you but i need two days, cause my lappy is not working..

for now i can assist you with a simple trick

open notepad..

write

shutdown.exe -s


then save file as "anyname.bat"

goto start>programs>Accessories>system tools>schedule tasks

there jus shedule a task and when it asks for program's exe give this bat file.. and specify the time.. for that task..


also u can turn ur computer on with that schedule task option at specific time, this is what i used few months back when my BW was only free at 2am
__________________
Realin Wuz here ...

real_in is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 02:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

thx i will c how switchoff2.3 goes and if it dosn't work i will try your methord

thanks guys!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.