How to patch non installed games/software? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2007, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default How to patch non installed games/software?

Pretty hard to explain this, let's see...

Basically I formatted yesterday, and due to the lack of some CD's of my games I just copied their game folders to my seperate HD.

Now I was wondering how it would be possible to apply a patch on those games, seeing they're not at the "normal" path, and there aren't any registry keys. Anyone got a solution to that? Or should I just install my games directly onto my second HD next time I install one? or would that put me at the exact same situation?
__________________

Forcemaster is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

like a no cd patch? so u dont need the cd to run it?
__________________

jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

No, as in patches, you know, the patches that you install to fix bugs & glitches in the game.
Forcemaster is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

oryt okay, why cant you download them again, surly the installer will find if you have the game installed
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

Cause I don't feel like downloading the game everytime I format? I should really put them on DVD instead of deleting them -_-

But the games I currently have are all legal, no worries.
Forcemaster is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

yea im not bothered if they anit lol but i dont get why it is hard for you to install the patch if you know the path of your games.
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 11:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

Because the patch simply wont work if it doesn't detect the registry keys + default install path?
Forcemaster is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 01:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

How about the next time you download the game, click SAVE instead of RUN. Then burn to CD for later use.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 03:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave1984 View Post
How about the next time you download the game, click SAVE instead of RUN. Then burn to CD for later use.
Can we please get to the point here? I've got the folders of some games, but how can I apply patches to them seeing I lack the registry keys, making the patches not work

And yeah, in the future I'm burning my stuff to DVD.
Forcemaster is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to patch non installed games/software?

There is nothing you can do but run the installers again. Since you dont have the registry keys to run the games there is no patches out there that will fix the games to run again. Only a re-install of the game will do so you can get the registry keys again.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed Programs bigtom1990 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-19-2007 07:50 PM
BF2 Patch Problem goblue14 PC Gaming 2 06-17-2007 11:49 PM
Company of Heroes gets DX10 patch maroon1 PC Gaming 9 06-05-2007 12:35 PM
Just installed Vista, very good but 2 issues please help! jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-03-2007 03:53 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.