How often do you reinstall XP?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagelred

In Runtime
So I've had my Dell desktop computer now for probably 3 1/2 years or so. Since that time, I've never had to reinstall XP for any reason. (knock wood).

The system still seems to run pretty well, despite the usual "wear and tear" of daily usage of the operating system. I use Kaspersky Internet Security, scan for spyware with different programs, use cleaning programs such as CCleaner, and take a multivitamin (wait..wrong forum).

But seriously, I rarely if ever get blue screens, and there is nothing significant that doesn't work (although system restore is the only thing I can think of....)

I always wonder if the system would perform better with an XP reinstall, even if its not 100% necessary. I read some people do this every 6 months or so. Keep in mind, I'm not a techie, so a reinstall would probably be a pain in the butt for me.

So my questions are:

- How do I know how much better performance I would get with reinstall?
- How often do you reinstall your Operating system, if ever??
- Is there an easy tutorial somewhere if I wanted to do this myself?
- Is there a system test to see how my OS stacks up versus a fresh install?
- Am I simply looking for trouble or should I just leave my system alone?

FYI, I have Dell Desktop, Windows XP, SP3, Pentium 4, 1 GB Memory, 80 GB HD......

Love to hear others thoughts on voluntary reinstalls.....thanks......

I reinstall once a month on average. Sometimes more, sometime less. :cool:

- How do I know how much better performance I would get with reinstall? Fresh systems almost always perform better on most ocassions.

- How often do you reinstall your Operating system, if ever?? I reinstall once a month on average. Sometimes more, sometime less. Just think, the more you do it, the better you will be at it, the more problems you run into the better you will be able to fix them.