how much ram can vista support? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2006, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default how much ram can vista support?

i heard win xp can only utilize just under 4gb of memory, no point having more. so what about vista??? or at least the beta version anyway.
__________________

heffer is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Depends on which OS type you use. X86 is limited to 4gb, where as x64 is much higher. I can't remember off hand though...
I'll go look it up...
looks like 16 TB is the limit on x64. So if you have the hardware, you can use as much as you want, but if you don't, then your still limited to 4 GB.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

16 tb is the page file and virtual mem, of actually ram 64 bit supports like 168 gigs about.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.