On how many computers can I legally install XP/Office/Norton? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2004, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default On how many computers can I legally install XP/Office/Norton?

I'd much prefer to use the hundreds of dollars of old software I have, but I have heard a lot of mixed answers to this question, at least for XP.
Some say 1, some say 3, some say infinite.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 12:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

one on your desktop and one on your laptop you use for "work".

anything more is illegal unless your license stats otherwise. READ THE LICENSE or call the manufacture if you have any questions.

(now that the legal stuff is taken care of)

why do you care how many you can install? this for a business or home use?
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 02:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Legaly, you can only install 1 per machine. There is a 3 machine liscene offered by MS of XP for students I think, but I could be wrong. Office is the same way and so is norton. It's a per machine liscen agreement.
You can buy more than one license and get a discount I believe, but you might be best to talk with MS\Symantec and get the details...

edit--- Please excuse bad spelling... too lazy to fix it...
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

Actually Inaris,

back when I used to work for a local retail computer supply store, I spoke with Microsoft for a customer...asking what the deal is.

They told me that if they purchase a software package like Office, they are legally entitled to install it on their desktop computer and laptop computer....not two desktops. They feel that having it installed like that, they are using it for work and work at home. ... not sure if i'm explaining it correctly..its been a long day..
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

OK well if it runs on multiple comps either way I am not too concerned, but I thought I would ask.
Thanks.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 10:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

I think it's one, but look at your license, usually eula.txt or license.txt in the root folder of the application and/or CD-ROM. It also shows up during setup. There's a paragraph somewhere in there that tells you the specifics.

//not that I read all the EULA/licenses...
__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD±R Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 02:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

rollincatera is right. legally you can install it on 1 desktop and 1 laptop. microsoft states that as long as the person using it on the desktop & laptop is the same person and that person does not let anyone else use it or he doesn't use both at the same time ...it's legal. If anybody else wants to use it they need an additional license. but than again nobody really cares. nobody is going to send you to jail if you break these terms. and why do they have fast user switching in xp if only 1 person per license?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 02:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I've been told in the past that you are allowed to install Winodows operating systems on one desktop computer and one laptop computer (you get to install it on both the desktop AND laptop with one license ONLY though). I am not sure how Symantec treats that situation though.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 07:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

yea its just the 1 per copy


Zimon
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.