How to make a certain folder the default when opening files in Internet Explorer?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2006, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default How to make a certain folder the default when opening files in Internet Explorer??

I have some info I like to read on IE that's in a specific folder, yet when going to File --> Open..., the default folder's My Pictures. How can I change the settings so that the default opening folder's the one I want?
__________________

Fabyfakid is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

right click on my pictures, or my documents, etc and click move up or move down to the one you want
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default

eh, didn't work.
Fabyfakid is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 12:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you post a screenshot of it, maybe im thinking of something else.
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 01:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2005-...84/screen.jpeg - Here you go, thanks for the help.
Fabyfakid is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 01:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well what i told you before works but not with IE, I think there is a registry setting...ill see if i can find it
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.