How to make a CD installation? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2008, 03:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Mak, he's obviously talking about making a cd which, when inserted, will autorun/behave like a normal cd.

In which case kopenhagen, you'll need an ISO burner (if the extension is .iso) and a dvd/cd burner. Just insert a blank cd/dvd run the ISO burner program, tell it what you want to burn onto the disk, and it'll burn the files on, making a cd/dvd which anyone can install.

If the extension isn't an iso, just get a burner which burns whatever extension it is. Usually it'll be an .iso extension though.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 08:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Yes but that does not means the CD will have Autorun capability. Doing that needs programming experience.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 08:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Mak, I thought autoplay something the os has control over? I know I disabled any autoruns on my pc, so nothing will autorun. I've just never had to program any disc in my experience before it'd autorun. Something obvious I'm missing?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 09:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Well Autorun will happen. IF you insert jsut a picutre CD or soemthin you will get the pop up.

"What do you want to do with this media"

Then you get your selection. But from the sounds of it he wants it to go right to a installer.

Quote:
all I want to do is to create a CD so that anybody can install it
Now to go right to a installer. That would require porgramming. Like if you insert a game and get the pop up menu with the options

Install
View Read Me
Go to website

That is a totally different type of autorun that requires programming. The simple one to jsut get a folder up and then select a installer is not somethin you need programming for. That is what i am trying to find out. IF he wants something complicated like he says, or something simple that he can just burn a CD with.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 11:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

go to folder option and uncheck hide file extensions. it looks like you unrar the .iso. winrar can extract an iso files. that why whenever I install winrar, I uncheck the iso extension for file association
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Still not helping. What do you mean by anybody? Like have a AutoRun feature? When you put the CD in it starts up and prompts for install?
yes ,once I make a CD image, then I Put in the CD rom ,it has feature install the programme
Thanks
kopenhagen is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Please read some of my other posts. You will need programming skills to do this. Post #14 explains it best.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Yes but that does not means the CD will have Autorun capability. Doing that needs programming experience.
so why some CD, when you put in the CD rom, it says "do you want to install it?"
just click on icon to install it, it that I want to achieve
kopenhagen is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

Because they are programmed with a autorun that gives you that option. Ever put a CD in to your system and all you get in a simple windows?

I know what you want to achieve. But i am trying to tell you that without some programming knowledge you will only get this type of window:



Where it will ask you what you want to do. Without the Autorun file on there you will not get the screen that prompts you to install it. That autorun file is specifically programmed for each disc. So that it can include graphics and music or to just show a image. Anyway you do it, it requires programming. If not you will jsut burn it to disc and get the Selection Menu.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Content Team
 
revenge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: earth
Posts: 360
Default Re: How to make a CD installation?

i think he wants an autorun feature. What's in your rar file anyway?
__________________

revenge2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Installation Problem ksmarks Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-07-2007 04:06 PM
BRL-CAD installation. zippo Linux and Open Source 2 06-02-2007 09:11 AM
Nero 6 to make VCD sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-21-2007 04:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.