How to make BSOD stay on screen (so i can read it) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2006, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Default How to make BSOD stay on screen (so i can read it)

Hi guys

My friend's laptop wont boot into windows NORMAL mode anymore,it flashes a BSOD screen for like .1 seconds and reboots..

I can still log into safemode, and i wanted to set the computer to DISPLAY the BSOD on screen instead of automatically rebooting.... that is so i can read it and figure out what's causing the error.

any help would be greatly appreciated..

PS
i tried setting ALL THE SERVICES's recovery options to TAKE NO ACTION instead of the usual RESTAT SERVICE or RESTART COMPUTER.. but still that certain BSOD error is FLASHED the laptop is rebooted so fast that i can't make anything out of the error.
__________________

clever_j is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Right click on My Computer, then choose properties, go to the advanced tab, then startup and recovery, then uncheck automatically restart. This will leave the BSOD on screen rather than reboot right away
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

You can also do this. Start>Run>eventvwr.msc That will bring up the Event Viewer so you can see what happened on the last crash.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Default

tried that as well.. it didnt return anything relevant to the crash, just a bunch of driver errors not launching (which is caused by booting into safemode)..

I think since the BSOD happens during start up (boot screen only), the eventvwr service has not been launched yet.
clever_j is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 10:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well if it happened during boot then it could be a few things. Basically it could boil down to a driver conflict or a file conflict. Not much right.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Default

yeah could prolly be..
so any ideas how to KEEP the BSOD on display? coz it really just shows for less then .2 seconds.. like a flash.. tried so hard to read (get a clue).. impossible..
clever_j is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well if you could at least look at the top and see what the Stop Error message is. All we need is the code it gives. The 0x0000007e would be an example. That is all we need to help you sort out the issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 01:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i disagree , thats not all i need :beard:

in safe mode get into c:\windows\minidump (bsod logs are kept in folder) rar/zip all files , upload to www.mytempdir.com and provide link , ill analyze the recent logs and let you know
jeremy is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 01:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Sure it is. That way you can start the process. All Stop errors are generated by something. Yes what you are asking for will provide some more info but at least this will get us started on a path.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 02:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

point is without the logs you can just provide possible reasons and how to troubleshoot em and cant say for sure whats causing it
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.