How to lock down XP with gpedit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2003, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default How to lock down XP with gpedit?

How can I lock down XP so that a user can only use one prog and do nothing else. I still want the admin to be able to do everything but want one user to be only able to access a few things. The workstations won'tbe on a network so using a domain controller is not in the running.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 07-27-2003, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Admstng
Default

becasue your not using a DC. yuou can't use GPO's cause it would apply to the whole machine. I think anyway, i remeber trying somthing liek this awhile ago... if i were you i would set perms on the "program files" for only "adminstrator" and "deny" on that perticular user.. and have seperate DIR for that users one prog and have the fefault perms on that.. hope this helps.. give us an update, i'm curious..
__________________

Admstng is offline  
Old 07-28-2003, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default

Thanks Mate. Had the feeling it might be the case becaue whenever I created a new group in Computer administration and then used gpedit the settings were effective across every user. How can I set the program files permissions?
Maybe I could get some thrid party software? There are going to be twenty pcs in our training room all running the same version of custom software which is the only thing that the users will need to access....I just don't want any smartasses to try and run anything but the program they should be using.
__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 07-28-2003, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Admstng
Default

i can't tell you axactly how to do it casue i'm using Linux at the moment, but it is simple. Right click on the folder>Properties>security> and in here, deny rights for %user%. This will be a pain in the *** wiuth 20 users.. but it should work. You should invest in a version of Server.
Admstng is offline  
Old 07-28-2003, 12:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default

Hah! Thanks mate--I'd love it if the boss would okay another 10000 for a server/win2003 too ;-) Just spent 30,000 on the pcs and periphs...nothing else is coming this way for a long time.......cheers for the knowledge....
__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.